The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Interception Touchback/Safety question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28778-interception-touchback-safety-question.html)

bossman72 Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:03pm

is the NCAA momentum rule different? i ask this because i've seen several times where momentum has taken a player from the field of play to the endzone, the player takes a knee, and the ball is brought out to the 20...

MJT Wed Oct 11, 2006 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72
is the NCAA momentum rule different? i ask this because i've seen several times where momentum has taken a player from the field of play to the endzone, the player takes a knee, and the ball is brought out to the 20...

I don't think you saw that happen. He must have not "truely" gained possession until he was in the EZ. That part of the momentum exception is the same for NF and NCAA. There is a difference when it comes to a foul that occurs and then the ball is fumbled forward out of the EZ, but that is another situation.

MI Official Thu Oct 12, 2006 09:40am

My $.02
 
If I read it right it should be at the two because wasn't he tackled after possession at the two (after a couple of lateral steps) and ended up in the EZ. forward progress? BUt I also read in a reply, that a catch or recovery in the EZ is a touchback, I am assuming that was the kick tangent we went on. Because an interception can be returned out of the EZ, right. :confused:

ljudge Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
I don't think you saw that happen. He must have not "truely" gained possession until he was in the EZ. That part of the momentum exception is the same for NF and NCAA. There is a difference when it comes to a foul that occurs and then the ball is fumbled forward out of the EZ, but that is another situation.

MJT - where is this in the rule book? I just read this the other day and agree with you but I'm getting a little lost in the NCAA rules. Looking for a rule and an AR please. Thanks.

Bob M. Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ljudge
MJT - where is this in the rule book? I just read this the other day and agree with you but I'm getting a little lost in the NCAA rules. Looking for a rule and an AR please. Thanks.

REPLY: Joe...see NCAA rule 10-2-2-f. Rule points to the appropriate ARs. Even NCAA rules don't cover one possibility: See http://www.refstripes.com/forum/index.php?topic=816.0 for a discussion of that situation.

kdf5 Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Then I guess you'll have to stop working!:D

Back to the original play, it sounds like this should have been ruled a safety. If he was able to run laterally (parallel to the goal line), any subsequent movement into his endzone would be of his own accord. The call should never have been a touchback if the post properly represented the play.

And Jason...FYI, the Fed momentum rule is pretty much identical to the NCAA rule.

If he runs laterally along the two for several steps before going into the EZ on his own, I have a safety. You might have to see it or be there. What about a situation where he's "tightroping"? I would look at this like he didn't have his balance and I might give him the benefit of the doubt and give him the ball at the two, again I'd have to see it. If a defender pushes him into the EZ then do you have forward progress at the two or a TB?

Bob M. Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kdf5
If he runs laterally along the two for several steps before going into the EZ on his own, I have a safety. You might have to see it or be there. What about a situation where he's "tightroping"? I would look at this like he didn't have his balance and I might give him the benefit of the doubt and give him the ball at the two, again I'd have to see it. If a defender pushes him into the EZ then do you have forward progress at the two or a TB?

REPLY: I completely lost sight of the piece of the original post that said "...his momentum or that of the other player carries him into the endzone." If that "other player" was an opponent, I agree with kdf5 that you'll have a forward progress spot outside the endzone. In such a case, it would be an extremely hard sell to say 'touchback.' Actually, the original post makes it pretty clear that the momentum exception is off the table since the runner was able to take a few steps parallel to the goal line at his own 2. So even though the original post mentions that "his momentum...carries him into the endzone," we're no longer talking the momentum exception, but rather a situation where he enters his end zone of his own accord. Should the ball then become dead there in his possession, the result of the play is a safety as most have said.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1