The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   KCI on scrimmage kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28776-kci-scrimmage-kick.html)

Sonofanump Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:41am

KCI on scrimmage kick
 
Can K1 push R2 into R1 as R1 is in position to receive a scrimmage kick/punt? If R2 is (a) blocking or (b) do nothing but standing near R1. 6-5-6 does not seem to address this in my mind.

BigGref Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:55am

K1 pushing of R2 into R1 that may subsequently cause the ball to be touched by R1 or R2 is ignored. Thus when K tries to pick it back up you will have first touching by K and any subsequent action can be brought back to that point. As far as KCI I am not sure that it would apply in this situation, but the touching by R would be ignored.

ChickenOfNC Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGref
K1 pushing of R2 into R1 that may subsequently cause the ball to be touched by R1 or R2 is ignored. Thus when K tries to pick it back up you will have first touching by K and any subsequent action can be brought back to that point. As far as KCI I am not sure that it would apply in this situation, but the touching by R would be ignored.

Don't have my books, but I believe K is not allowed to contact an R player unless warding off a block. In the second scenerio you posed, if R is just standing there, I think you have a KCI for contacting R.

cougar729 Thu Oct 12, 2006 04:36am

K1 may block anyone unless it is KCI, which would mean he would have to block R1. Since he is blocking R2 it is not an illegal block. Although I think you will rarely see K blocking on a scrimmage kick as they are the ones attempting to make the tackle. There is a good article on grantsrc's website that talks about blocking as "dancing" and how to determine who is "leading" the dance in order to judge forced touching.

mcrowder Thu Oct 12, 2006 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cougar729
K1 may block anyone unless it is KCI, which would mean he would have to block R1. Since he is blocking R2 it is not an illegal block. Although I think you will rarely see K blocking on a scrimmage kick as they are the ones attempting to make the tackle. There is a good article on grantsrc's website that talks about blocking as "dancing" and how to determine who is "leading" the dance in order to judge forced touching.

But while the ball is in the air, if R2 is close enough to where the ball is coming down (i.e. in the OP, he's close enough to R1 to be blocked into him, and R1 is in or near the position where the ball is coming down), then contacting R2 (unless combating a block) would be KCI, since you don't yet know that R2 is not going to try to catch the ball.

If R2 is actively trying to block K, I agree with you.

cougar729 Fri Oct 13, 2006 03:05am

totally agree with you on that situation


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1