![]() |
Free blocking zone
When team A lines up in shotgun or punt formation are lineman within the freeblocking zone allowed to block below the waist even though the ball is leaving the zone?
|
The interp that most states use is that if the blocks are made immediately after the snap, the blocks are legal. Any delay, or preset by the linemen would make the block too late.
In NC, we've been told that the linemen must be in a 3 or 4 point stance as well. The philosophy is that there can't be an immediate block if they're in a 2 point stance. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I watched a tape of one of our games where this happened and even though the block happened almost immediately after the snap, it still occurred after the ball had left the zone. Literally interpreting the rule would have a foul on this play. Using the judgement mentioned above is no foul and I agree with that. The issue is not every crew will call this consistently and coaches will get frustrated by that. |
There are numerous state clinics held acrossed our state. Making sure that the same information is passed along at each clinic is always an issue. But I know that it was covered in depth at our meeting.
I think the fact that the blocker's charge starts when the ball is still in the FBZ allows us to view it as legal. Last week, I had a kid hesitate before cutting. I didn't flag him but I did warn him that he can't delay. He asked, "So I can't preset?" "No, sure can't." "No problem." |
Our association has told us the same here in NY, the block must be immediate when A is in a shotgun formation.
|
I think it is important also to note that for that kind of block to occur, we are going to make sure its the lineman firing out of his stance and cutting the defensive lineman, i dont think a step back, like a pass block, and then cut would be allowed
|
Exactly, they can not step back at all, they must fire out of their stance for it to be legal.
|
why wouldn't you be allowed to preset when cutting? According to 2-17-2, it doesn't say that you CAN'T preset or hesitate before cutting.
Quote:
|
Bossman, they're talking about a shotgun formation. The free blocking zone disintigrates when the ball leaves the zone.
|
Quote:
ahhhh. i didn't know that there had to be a ball inside the zone. thanks for clarification. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm. |