The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   6-1-8 (https://forum.officiating.com/football/2874-6-1-8-a.html)

devdog69 Tue Sep 04, 2001 08:54am

We are having a disagreement among our crew as to this rule. The situation is a free kick is muffed by R, then touched by K then goes out of bounds. It's the same play in the simplified and illustrated book on page 50 at the top. According to the funny book it is a foul on K. This is what our white hat keeps citing and maintains that it is a foul on K. However, if you read the rulebook, page 42, it says: Art.8...A free kick shall not be kicked out of bounds between the goal lines untouched inbounds by R. If it is, R has the following choices:
I think the simplified and illustrated example is wrong, any comments? How would I get confirmation of this from the powers that be?

Zeke5 Tue Sep 04, 2001 09:58am

I believe this rule was refined in last season's (2000) changes, and there are a still a few publications (and officials) that still need updated.

This is not a foul on K as 6-1-8 clearly states. If R touches the ball at any time during the kick (even if K touched it first), there is no foul when the ball goes out of bounds.

cparef Tue Sep 04, 2001 12:27pm

Zeke5 is correct. The funny book has not been corrected as to the rule change.

BktBallRef Tue Sep 04, 2001 09:07pm

The rule was changed last year. Now, the ball must go OOB untouched by R, as you stated. Read the rule changes in last year's rulebook.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1