![]() |
Illegal Snap
The center snapped on a PAT and I blew it dead with an illegal snap call...problem was, the Ready for Play had not been blown by my R. Should I have just banged my Fox 40 and reset everything with no penalty? the rule states an illegal snap occurs AFTER the RFP...I think I blew this call:eek: ...give me some help Umpires.
J:) |
Depending on what he did, could be DOG.
|
No foul. Pick up your flag and reset.
|
NF: This is a Delay of Game foul. 3-6-2-e.
That being said, it's the Umpire's responsibility to stand over the ball until it is marked ready. though some mechanics call for the U to be under the GP so usually the R will wait until A has come to the line with the U still there. At this time, the U can tell the snapper to wait for the whistle, then R can verbally tell the U to back out, then delay for about 2-3 seconds then blow the RFP. That's how we do it anyway. the point being not to ever have this foul if at all possible. |
If I sense something is about to happen before my ready, either a snap or a free kick, I take a quick official's timeout and check the ball or the tee, or tell a player to check his chin strap, or get a bug out of my eye... whatever it takes to avoid that penalty.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm. |