The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Sep 29, 2006, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member

Humiliated Ump

Last Friday at a varisity game, a fill in side judge placed my credibility in the toilet. I was totally stuned by his actions and the non reaction of the crew I have been officiating with for over 7 years.

On a 4th down. The kicking coach demanded that his ball be changed and that it was the rule. It is fair to state that it had been raining but the ball was dry. I and the linesman refused his request. The coached got louder and made his demand. Again, saying it was in the rule book.

We all know that the same ball must be used during all 4 downs; the only thing that can allow the ball to be exchanged for another is a new series or if the offficals feel the weather requires a dry ball to be inserted.

The side judge came from his side line to the far hash mark. While doing so, yelling that he will honor the request and the ball will be exchanged. He exchanged balls to my objection and that of the linesman.

First, there was no conference between us. Secondly, was his yelling "all over the field" his intent to exchange the ball.

My concern was that the coach was wrong in stating it was a rule that he has the right to exchange the ball at anytime in the game.

Needless to say, I lost total respect from everyone when the ball was exchanged. In all of my 25 years as an official, I have never had such an experience.

I no longer am officiating. I lost that "something' on the field that night.

Any thoughts out there??

Bucky
Old Fri Sep 29, 2006, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member