The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA Kick Plays (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28585-ncaa-kick-plays.html)

DJ_NV Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:14pm

NCAA Kick Plays
 
NCAA rules please: down/distance, yardline and clock

thanks


#1. 4 / 10 @ the 50. A1’s punt is in flight beyond the neutral zone where B1 gives an invalid fair catch signal. B1 decides not to catch the ball and allows it to bounce at the B-25 yard line. While the ball is bouncing untouched, B1 blocks A88 at the B-30 yard line. A57 downs the ball at the B-20 yard line.


#2. 4 / 10 @ the A-40. A1’s punt is in flight beyond the neutral zone. B1 is at the B-35 yard line in position to catch the ball. Just before the ball arrives, A78 tackles B1 at the B-35 yard line. The ball contacts the ground and is bouncing at the B-37 when an inadvertent whistle is sounded.

#3. 4 / 5 @ the B-32 yard line. Team A is in scrimmage kick formation and is attempting a field goal. The kick is partially blocked at the line of scrimmage and continues downfield and is bouncing at the B-11 yard line where B-97 falls on it. After the play, A10 is flagged for a personal foul.

#4. 4 / 10 @ the B-45. A1’s punt is bouncing at the B-1 yard line when A87, who is in B’s end zone, bats the ball back to the B-6 yard line where it is recovered by A23. The ball never broke the plane of Team B’s end zone. During the play, B97 clipped A56 at the B-16 yard line.

#5. Same play as #4, however the ball did break the plane of Team B’s end zone.

Theisey Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:28pm

Here's my quick shot at these. Pickem apart

1) B 1/10 @B-10 Snap
2) A 4/25 @A-25 Snap
3) B 1/10 @B-26 Snap
4) B 1/10 @B-3 Snap
5) B 1/10 @B-8 Snap

(edited: Ouch! I most certainly forgot all about the new timing change! thanks DJ_NV. Only #2 would be on the snap)

DJ_NV Fri Sep 29, 2006 03:52pm

I've got the same on everything but #2 which I'm not sure of yet. Also, in plays 1,3,4 and 5, the clock should start on the RFP in NCAA.

As for #2, the NCAA rules seem a little vague. On one hand, 4-1-2-b-3 states the an IW during a legal kick play always goes back to the PS. However because this is a spot foul, does 4-1-2-c override 4-1-2-b-3 and give ball to B yards 15 from the spot of the foul (as in the old adage that a penalty trumps an IW) or does this always go back to the PS?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1