The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Just to Summarize DPI (NCAA) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28532-just-summarize-dpi-ncaa.html)

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 27, 2006 08:21pm

Just to Summarize DPI (NCAA)
 
With the OU/Oregon fiasco and other discussions on here (mainly related to NFHS), the way I read the DPI rule with regards to a tipped ball is the following:

1. Contact that occurs BEFORE the tip or touch can still be penalized as DPI; provided that
2. The ball is still catchable by the receiver contacted.

I think we are going to get ourselves into a lot of trouble trying to determine if the contact occurred prior to the touching or after, so if it isn't clear, waive off the flag.

Agree or disagree? Other comments?

Just trying to get a firm grasp on this as prior to the weekend referenced above, haven't really put a lot of thought into this. But I think its important.

MJT Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:20pm

I would agree. If in doubt, no foul. I had one just like that in a college game this past week and since it was tough to tell if ball was tipped before or after the contact I had no flag. I immediately gave the tipped ball signal and heard no complaints from the A coaches.

RoyGardner Thu Sep 28, 2006 04:13am

One clarification here. If the B player who has committed the DPI is the one tipping the ball before it gets to the A player it is still DPI.

cmathews Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RoyGardner
One clarification here. If the B player who has committed the DPI is the one tipping the ball before it gets to the A player it is still DPI.

do you have a rules reference to back that up? Or are you talking about the player committing the DPI in order to tip the ball??

RoyGardner Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:16pm

".... are you talking about the player committing the DPI in order to tip the ball??"

Yes . I'm talking about the player who gets to the ball after committing a DPI foul on the intended receiver so he can get to the ball. If he has committed DPI to get to and tip the ball (thereby making it uncatchable by the intended receiver) we still have a valid DPI call. He can't "cancel" his own foul by tipping the ball after the fact since by throwing the flag we've already decided that he has fouled and prevented A from having a reasonable opportunity to catch the pass.

DJ_NV Thu Sep 28, 2006 05:41pm

Roy is correct. DPI restrictions terminate when the ball is tipped by B so anything that happened before the tip but after the ball is thrown would still be considered DPI.

This is probably less common than OPI in the same instance because the time interval (snap to tip for OPI) is usually longer than for DPI (ball thrown to tip) since there is less time for a DPI foul to occur.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1