![]() |
Free Kick - Move ball after Ready for Play?
NCAA rules today. Late in the fourth quarter we had an obvious short kick situation. U gives the ball to the kicker who places the tee and the ball near the left inbounds line. He then returns to the huddle, the U does his checks, the R blows the Ready and the 25 seconds clocks begin.
The kicker then asks the U if he can move the ball. U responds, "You have 25 seconds". The kicker quickly moves the ball to the other hash and they run their onside kick attempt. So the question is...Was moving the ball to the other hash after the Ready had been blown legal? I couldn't find a rule specifically saying he could NOT do this. I haven't checked the FED ruling yet, but I don't remember seeing anything specific about this there either. |
Duringthe 25 seconds he can move the ball from side to side as much as he wants but does not get a new 25 secs each time. As long as he can get all the swapping done and the ball kicked in the 25 secs, no foul.
|
Only the NF has wording that says once the spot is designated by the kicking team, they must kick from that spot.
So no, they would not be able to move the ball to the other in-bounds line if this were an NFHS rules game. Never could find out why this rule was put in place. |
NFHS 6-2-3rd line on p. 49.
Saw this happen in a F/S game on Thursday. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm. |