![]() |
|
|
|||
OPI on 4th Down
4th Down and 10. A has the ball on the B 40 Yard Line. A10 throws a pass to A88 at the B 10 YL. A88 Commits OPI at he 10 yard line, and the pass falls incomplete.
What are the options to give to B? Please give rule references. |
|
|||
Decline the penalty and take the result of the play - which means a turnover on downs at the 40, first and ten for B.
The obvious choice is to take the penalty - 15 yards from the previous spot and the loss of down penalty. First and ten for B at A's 45. Rule 5.2.5g |
|
|||
OK, we actually had this happen in a JV game today. One of the officials didn't think that B should be given the option of the yardage, and the line he kept saying was, "A penalty should not result in a change of possession." I kept saying it wasn't the penalty that caused the COP, it was the fact that A didn't make the first down yardage, they committed a Loss of DOwn penalty, and therefore, the next down after the play was 1st down for B, but that B was still entitled to the 15 yard penalty being enforced before the ball is turned over on downs.
|
|
|||
Captain - you can let them have the ball and a first down here or we can go way back there, penalize them 15 yards AND let you have the ball. Your choice.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Last edited by WhistlesAndStripes; Sat Sep 23, 2006 at 11:55pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|