The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA fumbles on fourth down (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28440-ncaa-fumbles-fourth-down.html)

The Roamin' Umpire Sat Sep 23, 2006 08:12am

NCAA fumbles on fourth down
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
... But for NCAA fumbles forward that remain (are recovered) inbounds, it's only on fourth down that they come back to the point of the fumble. For first, second, and third downs, fumbles that are recovered inbounds are treated identically to the way they are in NFHS.

This is a quote from my previous thread, which was getting a bit long, so I pulled it out to a new one.

I could (and probably will) go look this rule up myself, but it's worth clarifying here as well:

1) If the fumbling player makes the recovery, then he gets the ball at the point of recovery, correct?

2) What if the defense makes the recovery? Do they get it at the point of recovery, the point the ball was lost, or do they have a choice? And what if they recover and run with it?

TXMike Sat Sep 23, 2006 08:23am

1 - His team gets the ball and he can advance if he is not down.

2- Defense can recover and advance but if they recover and are down there, then that is where they get the ball

RoyGardner Sat Sep 23, 2006 08:31am

"1) If the fumbling player makes the recovery, then he gets the ball at the point of recovery, correct?"

YES, although if he recovers it and he is not down by rule he may advance the ball. (see NCAA Rule 7 Section 2)

"2) What if the defense makes the recovery? Do they get it at the point of recovery, the point the ball was lost, or do they have a choice? And what if they recover and run with it?"

It's just a "standard fumble". Ball is live and B can return if not recovered on the ground (if ball is not dead by rule). (see NCAA Rule 7 Section 2)

NickelDeuce Mon Sep 25, 2006 03:28pm

After B recovers, and runs with the ball, they have the same restrictions. Correct??

Theisey Mon Sep 25, 2006 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NickelDeuce
After B recovers, they have the same restrictions. Correct??

No restrictions for team-B. It's live ball all the way to the other goal line.

Let me add to that by saying a forward fumble by team-B OOB is brought back to the spot of the fumble, but no restrictions on what team-B player subsequently fumbles with another team-B player recovering that fumble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1