The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   field goal or try (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28438-field-goal-try.html)

Ref inSoCA Sun Sep 24, 2006 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
By the book.

LJ positions at the depth of the crossbar and gives a thumbs up or down (LJ is well wide of the uprights\, not under), R calls the uprights, and (most importantly) the L watches for roughing the holder/kicker. U works his normal spot and watches for roughing the snapper.


Must be the NF Mechanics Manual. We don't use it.

Thanks for the explanation.

Rich Sun Sep 24, 2006 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref inSoCA
Must be the NF Mechanics Manual. We don't use it.

Thanks for the explanation.

How else would you handle a try in 4-man?

Ref inSoCA Sun Sep 24, 2006 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
How else would you handle a try in 4-man?

We have the LJ under one pole, the U under the other, the HL on the Line and the R takes the kicker/holder.

Rich Sun Sep 24, 2006 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref inSoCA
We have the LJ under one pole, the U under the other, the HL on the Line and the R takes the kicker/holder.

Who watches for roughing the snapper?

ToGreySt Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
I haven't worked 4-man all season. We take 5 and split 4 checks for some FR/JV games and some schools will actually pay for 5.

This Thursday I'll work 4 for 2 games and probably have to WH both of them since my crew's backup can't work. I'll have to force myself to remember to watch the kick and not the holder/kicker.

Rich,

you are really lucky in your area, all of my JV/FR games this season except for two are three man games...I have no five man games this season outside of Pop Warner where almost all games are five man (man that league has too much money, so we are only too happy to take it from them)

Joe

Ref inSoCA Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Who watches for roughing the snapper?

The U, just like he's supposed to.

Rich Mon Sep 25, 2006 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref inSoCA
The U, just like he's supposed to.

OK, but he's off the field, about 15 yards from the LOS. It's hard to be visible and preventive and clean up the line play afterwards from under an upright.

I'm not saying either way is wrong. I don't like abdicating the roughing responsibilities or like calling the uprights myself (it's like calling balls and strike from behind the mound) and I'm trying to decide whether to use this on Thursday when I actually have to work 4-man.

Ref inSoCA Mon Sep 25, 2006 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
OK, but he's off the field, about 15 yards from the LOS. It's hard to be visible and preventive and clean up the line play afterwards from under an upright.

I'm not saying either way is wrong. I don't like abdicating the roughing responsibilities or like calling the uprights myself (it's like calling balls and strike from behind the mound) and I'm trying to decide whether to use this on Thursday when I actually have to work 4-man.


I'm not saying either way is right or wrong. We all have to do what our group tells us. It's interesting to see what other people do.

That mechanic has worked for us for ~20 years. For whatever reason, we don't have a problem with roughing. Our Varsity coaches adapted after the roughing the C rule was put in. I have seen no one head-up on the C in years.

I U'd a 4-man game on Saturday and it felt right to get to pole calls right. The R and H clean up the line play.

BTW, in 5-man we have the BJ on one pole and the U on the other if the ball is snapped inside the 10. That way the H and L can stay on the line.

Again, not saying it's right or wrong, it's our mechanic.

Theisey Sat Sep 30, 2006 04:47pm

36 yard Florida FG attempt (vs. Alabama) appeared to pass directly over the uprights.
Kicker thought is was good from his angle... NOT.
BJ ruled it no good as expected too.

AZ Line Judge Sun Oct 01, 2006 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
By the book.

LJ positions at the depth of the crossbar and gives a thumbs up or down (LJ is well wide of the uprights\, not under), R calls the uprights, and (most importantly) the L watches for roughing the holder/kicker. U works his normal spot and watches for roughing the snapper.

In AZ, on a 4 man crew the LJ has the hook pole and the cross bar. The R has the other pole.

booker227 Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:38am

The ball must be inside of the uprights. Any portion of the ball on or outside of the uprights is "no-good"
Make the tough call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1