The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Gregg Doyel shows his lack of knowledge (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28386-gregg-doyel-shows-his-lack-knowledge.html)

voiceoflg Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:17pm

Gregg Doyel shows his lack of knowledge
 
link

I'll let you read the whole story from the link. Here's what caught my eye.

Quote:

Me? I want someone to explain the LSU-Auburn game.

There, officials encountered another pass interference muddled by a deflection, and LSU was denied a first-and-goal late in the fourth quarter when the replay official overturned the call on the field. The replay guy said Auburn's pass interference happened after the tip and therefore was allowable.

Replays clearly showed the tip coming after the interference. Did the SEC fly in that guy from Oregon for this call?
As far as I know, penalties aren't reviewable. And in the NCAA, DPI isn't a spot foul. So it would have been first and ten from the 16, not first and goal.

Media types like him make media types like me look bad.

Texas Aggie Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:21pm

Didn't see that play, just the very end of the game, but remember that in the NCAA if the ball is snapped between the B17 and the B2, and the DPI occurs inside the 2, the ball is placed at the 2. Don't know if this is true in Fed, nor do I know where the ball was snapped from or the spot of the foul.

I guess if you are putting it at the 16, does that mean the snap was the B31?

voiceoflg Tue Sep 19, 2006 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
Didn't see that play, just the very end of the game, but remember that in the NCAA if the ball is snapped between the B17 and the B2, and the DPI occurs inside the 2, the ball is placed at the 2. Don't know if this is true in Fed, nor do I know where the ball was snapped from or the spot of the foul.

I guess if you are putting it at the 16, does that mean the snap was the B31?

Correct. From Auburn's website:

"With LSU facing fourth-and-8 from Auburn's 31 and 2:43 left, JaMarcus Russell fired the ball to Early Doucet near the goal line. A diving (Eric) Brock deflected the pass, but Zach Gilbert was called for pass interference that would have kept the drive alive.

The officials overturned the call, although replays showed the contact came before the ball was tipped by Brock."

This pic isn't mine, but one I found online:

http://www.snapdrive.net/public/8949/uncatchable.jpg

Rich Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg
Correct. From Auburn's website:

"With LSU facing fourth-and-8 from Auburn's 31 and 2:43 left, JaMarcus Russell fired the ball to Early Doucet near the goal line. A diving (Eric) Brock deflected the pass, but Zach Gilbert was called for pass interference that would have kept the drive alive.

The officials overturned the call, although replays showed the contact came before the ball was tipped by Brock."

This pic isn't mine, but one I found online:

SNIP!

The pass was ruled uncatchable due to the deflection. Uncatchable = no DPI.

SC Ump Wed Sep 20, 2006 04:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by voiceoflg
This pic isn't mine, but one I found online:

Just for clarification, the picture above is after Brock has already deflected the pass.

Texas Aggie Wed Sep 20, 2006 10:59am

OK, I'm confused: was replay involved or was this changed on the field?

Toadman15241 Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
OK, I'm confused: was replay involved or was this changed on the field?

The officials got together on the field and changed it without replay.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1