![]() |
Spiking the ball.
I had this situation, and subsequent quetion, posed to me this week.
Team A is trying to stop the clock. They line up. A1 takes the snap, turns away from the line and throws the ball to the ground. Is this an incomplete pass (spike), or a backwards pass that may be recovered by B? I believe it is a judgement as to what "immediately" means in the rule. I spoke to an official who talked to the game R about this. The R was just thankful that Coach B didn't complain! |
Wow, I bet that caught you off guard. I guess by rule, if the initial direction of the pass was backwards then is would be a backwards pass. If at all close I would have a spike and then a chat with the QB.
|
One step back and thrown directly to the ground in front of himself is immediate.
Anything else is a backward pass or it two or more steps taken, then an illegal forward pass. Given this is high school level ball, I'd personally let it go if it was close or as they say when if doubt about being forward. Be nice if NF would consider allowing a spike from a shotgun like formation as does the NCAA. Why make it difficult for the younger players. |
Quote:
|
W_sohl: You just read about the what's do difficult about it in the original post. The QB spiked it back-wards. Now the WH has to make an unpopular ruling or worse yet, the wings blow an IW on the play.
Give'm another option. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
They spike it facing their own goal in anything other than freshnman and below it is an incomplete backward pass, those coaches should know better. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm. |