The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Figger this one out (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28330-figger-one-out.html)

WhistlesAndStripes Sun Sep 17, 2006 01:16am

Figger this one out
 
K is punting. LOS is the 50 YL. R1 catches the ball at the 20. During the return, R2 blocks K1 in the back at the 25 YL. R1 is tackled at the 40 YL, and during the tackle, K3 commits an inadvertant facemask penalty (5 yard variety.

How do you enforce the penalties on this play, from what spot, in what order, and all that stuff.

Please give rule references if you can.

whitehat52 Sun Sep 17, 2006 07:31am

This isn't hard. You have live ball fouls against both teams on a change of possession play. This is a "clean hands enforcement". R has two options, they may accept the penalty against K which would create a double foul, replay the down from the previous spot. Or they may keep the ball by declining the penalty against K and having their penalty enforced. The penalty on R2 for the block in the back is after the end of the kick, so this is not PSK. The block in the back occured at R's 25 ydl, and the run ended at R's 40. The foul occured behind the basic spot so you penalize from the spot of the foul R's 25. 1st down and 10 for R at the 15 ydl. K has no options on this play, speak only with the R captain. I don't have my books with me, sorry I can't give any rule references. Look in rule 10 under enforcement of penalties.

ljudge Sun Sep 17, 2006 07:34am

whitehat52 you beat me to it. I was previewing my message and noticed you had already replied.

I believe the rule is 10-2 or 10-3. It's the "double foul" section.

Buckeyes Sun Sep 17, 2006 11:06am

What abou this?
 
What happens if the runners fumbles during the facemask & K recovers?

MJT Sun Sep 17, 2006 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Buckeyes
What happens if the runners fumbles during the facemask & K recovers?

No change from above. K will not be allowed to get the ball as they did not get it with clean hands. Same options for R.

The Roamin' Umpire Sun Sep 17, 2006 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MJT
Quote:

Originally Posted by Buckeyes
What happens if the runners fumbles during the facemask & K recovers?

No change from above. K will not be allowed to get the ball as they did not get it with clean hands. Same options for R.

Au contraire. If K winds up with the ball here, there are NO options - double foul, replay the down.

MJT Sun Sep 17, 2006 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Au contraire. If K winds up with the ball here, there are NO options - double foul, replay the down.

\

Brain cramp! You're right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1