The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Is it a safety if B declines penalty? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28280-safety-if-b-declines-penalty.html)

Indy_Stu Wed Sep 13, 2006 08:21pm

Is it a safety if B declines penalty?
 
T or F

Q - If A1 is in his own end zone when he intentionally grounds a forward pass, it is a safety even if B declines the penalty.

I say B has the right to decline (hold those replies, I know that this will seldom if ever happen) and it is not automatically a safety, therefore F.

My association says 8-5-2c makes this one T. If intentional grounding is called and accepted, enforcement is from the end of the run. I agree this would be a safety in the situation above. If I.G. is called, but B declines, it seems to follow that all you have is an incomplete (forward) pass, not an illegal forward pass, so 8-5-2c does not apply. In this case the ball would go back to the L.O.S. for whatever down would come next.

Final thought in my own defense. Same situation as above, but lets say (unlikely, but hey . . .) it is 4th & 10 from A5; A leading B by 3 points; pass is whistled incomplete with 2 seconds remaining in the game. Can B decline penalty to go for tie/win?

waltjp Wed Sep 13, 2006 09:15pm

Intentional grounding from your own end zone is a safety if the penalty is accepted. If the penalty is declined the ball will be spotted at the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Safety.

BktBallRef Wed Sep 13, 2006 09:32pm

Makes no difference whether the foul is declined or not, the result is a safety.

An IFP is a running play, not a incomplete pass play. Since the run ended in the end zone where the ball became dead, the result of the play is a safety.

You got the question wrong. ;)

kdf5 Wed Sep 13, 2006 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp
Intentional grounding from your own end zone is a safety if the penalty is accepted. If the penalty is declined the ball will be spotted at the end of the run, which is in the end zone. Safety.

Exactly. An illegal pass is treated as a run. I learned this one the hard way years ago. Knowing the definitions of loose ball plays and running plays makes this one easier.

Indy_Stu Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:44am

I agree, but . . .
 
All -

Thanks for the posts. I agree an IFP is a penalty, for that matter any infraction that is accepted results in a penalty. Maybe a different way to state the question is, if a penalty is declined was there a penalty? B declined in the given situation. I don't make up these questions and situations, NFHS does. We just have to answer them

Modified situation: 1st and 10 from A20. QB A12 takes snap, rolls to right, and intentionally grounds at A15. B declines the penalty (I know, they wouldn't, but indulge the question). What is the down and distance? Where is ball put in play? Does the clock start at ready or snap?

My answer: B declined penalty, result of the play was an incomplete pass. Ball is still live until it is ruled incomplete, doesn't become dead just because it was thrown or intentionally thrown to avoid loss. Ball is returned to the 20 for 2nd and 10. Clock starts at the snap.

Another situation: QB A12 is scrambling in his own end zone. While trying to elude B players he facemasks B player while in the endzone to ward off defender. He escapes, throws a pass that is intercepted by B, and run back to the A5 yard line. Does B have any choices? Seems like a similar situation: live ball foul by A in its own end zone. Is this automatically a safety for B? Or do they have choices.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Another situation: QB A12 is scrambling in his own end zone. While trying to elude B players he facemasks B player while in the endzone to ward off defender. He escapes, throws a pass that is intercepted by B, and run back to the A5 yard line. Does B have any choices? Seems like a similar situation: live ball foul by A in its own end zone. Is this automatically a safety for B? Or do they have choices.

B can either:

1. Accept the facemask penalty resulting in a safety.

2. Decline the penalty and take possession at A5.

whitehat52 Thu Sep 14, 2006 05:59am

Indy Stu

Your questions all hinge on the definitions of what is a loose ball play and what is a running play. An illegal forward pass is a running play by RULE. If B accepts the penalty in the end zone it will be enforced from the spot of the foul hence a safety. However if they decline the foul for intentional grounding, the end of the run is still in the end zone, therefore the play also results in a safety.

The NFHS would have to change the definition of a loose ball play, for your situation not to be a safety.

waltjp Thu Sep 14, 2006 07:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Modified situation: 1st and 10 from A20. QB A12 takes snap, rolls to right, and intentionally grounds at A15. B declines the penalty (I know, they wouldn't, but indulge the question). What is the down and distance? Where is ball put in play? Does the clock start at ready or snap?

My answer: B declined penalty, result of the play was an incomplete pass. Ball is still live until it is ruled incomplete, doesn't become dead just because it was thrown or intentionally thrown to avoid loss. Ball is returned to the 20 for 2nd and 10. Clock starts at the snap.

This is where you're missing the point. As WH52 and others have said, an illegal forward pass is considered a running play and the run ends at the spot where the illegal pass was thrown. In your example the pass was thrown at the A15. That's the end of the run. If the penalty is declined that's where the ball will be put in play, not at the previous spot, A20.

BktBallRef Thu Sep 14, 2006 07:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
All -

Thanks for the posts. I agree an IFP is a penalty, for that matter any infraction that is accepted results in a penalty. Maybe a different way to state the question is, if a penalty is declined was there a penalty? B declined in the given situation.

Okay. B declines the penalty. The end of the run is the end zone. We can't snap the ball for the next down in the end zone, can we?

JasonTX Thu Sep 14, 2006 08:30am

NCAA is different than Fed on this one. A couple years ago the NCAA rule was the same as Fed, but now the NCAA has an exception to this. If thrown from the end zone, the offended team can decline the penalty and take the "artificial" incomplete pass.

Indy_Stu Thu Sep 14, 2006 08:32am

Fair Enough.
 
Fair enough, thanks for the input. One last though . . .

I guess I am having trouble with two points. One, B declined the penalty. An infraction occurred that was declined. B should have choices. Table 7-5-2 does classify intentional grounding as an illegal forward pass. Yes end of run in the end zone, blah blah blah. Why can't B decline penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass. They may want to decline and go for TD?

One more scenario that involves IFP: QB A12 takes snap and drops 5 yards deep into the end zone and throws forward pass (legal) to end A80. End A80 catches pass then throws long forward pass (2nd FP, so IFP) from 1 yard deep in end zone.
a) Ball is intercepted inbounds and returned for a TD by B. Snap, first run ends, loose ball, another run ends, second loose ball, followed by run. B would choose to take results of the play which is a TD. They decline the penalty to take results of the play.
b) Same scenario, but pass falls incomplete. There is no run following the last loose ball. B declines penalty. End of run was in the end zone, followed by IFP. B declines penalty, maybe because it was 4th down and they want to try for TD.

Does B have to take a safety in both IFP scenarios - - intentional grounding and 2nd FP?

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 08:45am

REPLY: When you need to set the ball following an incomplete forward pass, you need to keep one thing in mind: The last sentence of the pertinent rule says, "If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." For an illegal forward pass, the ball is returned to the end of the run (spot of the foul) as the others have said.

For those who might care, the NCAA has an exception that allows B to treat an incomplete illegal forward pass from A's end zone as if it were a legal forward pass, i.e. return it to the previous spot. PLAY: A, 4-10 from A's 5. A10 under duress, intentionally grounds a forward pass from his endzone.

NCAA RULING: B can take the safety (gets 2 points) and A will free kick from their 20, or B can take the ball 1 and goal from A's 5.

FEDERATION RULING: A is awarded 2 points for the safety. No other opions. A free kicks from their 20.

Sorry Jason...I didn't see your post when I posted my response.

kdf5 Thu Sep 14, 2006 08:49am

Indy_Stu: It seems to me that you are hung up on the illegal forward pass being incomplete and going back to the previous spot. If an IFP is thrown from the EZ and incomplete then you have safety no matter what because even though it's a pass and it's incomplete it's still a running play as far as any penalty enforcement and the all but one. An incomplete IFP is the same as if the QB was sacked in the EZ. I think you've got that concept, right?

If an IFP is thrown from the EZ and it's complete then you have a different set of cirucmstances. What you have is a completed pass. If B intercepts an IFP (thrown from EZ), they CAN decline the safety and keep the ball. The issue is an incomplete IFP - it is a run and the end of the run is the spot where the ball was thrown. I hope I didn't beat to death something you already know. If so, I apologize.

BktBallRef Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Fair enough, thanks for the input. One last though . . .

I guess I am having trouble with two points. One, B declined the penalty. An infraction occurred that was declined. B should have choices. Table 7-5-2 does classify intentional grounding as an illegal forward pass. Yes end of run in the end zone, blah blah blah. Why can't B decline penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass. They may want to decline and go for TD?

Please stop blah, blah, blahing and read what we're trying to tell you. You're not listening to us. You're blah, blah, blahing over the most important part of the play.

The result of the play is not an incomplete pass. It's an incomplete illegal forward pass. The result of the play is a run that ended in the end zone. On a incomplete legal forward pass, the ball goes back to the previous spot. On an incomplete illegal forward pass, the ball is marked at the end of the run. The play is just as if A1 had been tackled in the end zone because that's where the run ended.

Quote:

One more scenario that involves IFP: QB A12 takes snap and drops 5 yards deep into the end zone and throws forward pass (legal) to end A80. End A80 catches pass then throws long forward pass (2nd FP, so IFP) from 1 yard deep in end zone.
a) Ball is intercepted inbounds and returned for a TD by B. Snap, first run ends, loose ball, another run ends, second loose ball, followed by run. B would choose to take results of the play which is a TD. They decline the penalty to take results of the play.

b) Same scenario, but pass falls incomplete. There is no run following the last loose ball. B declines penalty. End of run was in the end zone, followed by IFP. B declines penalty, maybe because it was 4th down and they want to try for TD.

Does B have to take a safety in both IFP scenarios - - intentional grounding and 2nd FP?
a) The end of the play is NOT a run that ended in the end zone. Touchdown.
b)If incomplete, then the play ended with a run by A in B's end zone. It's no different than being tackled there. Safety.

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:51am

REPLY: Indy_Stu...let's give this one more try: The rule which governs placement of the ball for the next down says:
"If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." There should be no problems here.

Now, if your question was intended to ask "Why doesn't the Federation have a rule like the NCAA's which would allow the ball to be placed at the previous spot?" then there's merit to the question. And it needs to be directed to the Federation Rules Committee for consideration through your state committee member, Mr. Cox.

But if your question is indeed "Why can't B decline (the) penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass," asked in the context of the current Federation rules, then it's simply without merit. The rules are very clear that the ball is placed at the spot of the end of the run. Hence, safety regardless of whether the penalty is accepted or not.

Rich Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: Indy_Stu...let's give this one more try: The rule which governs placement of the ball for the next down says:
"If the pass is legal, the passing team next snaps the ball at the previous spot, unless lost after fourth down." There should be no problems here.

Now, if your question was intended to ask "Why doesn't the Federation have a rule like the NCAA's which would allow the ball to be placed at the previous spot?" then there's merit to the question. And it needs to be directed to the Federation Rules Committee for consideration through your state committee member, Mr. Cox.

But if your question is indeed "Why can't B decline (the) penalty and take results of play, in this case an incomplete pass," asked in the context of the current Federation rules, then it's simply without merit. The rules are very clear that the ball is placed at the spot of the end of the run. Hence, safety regardless of whether the penalty is accepted or not.

Not to pile on, but it's simply not seen as an incomplete pass. It's a run that ended. Toss your beanbag, cause you're going to need the spot.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:42am

Wait a minute...

Are you saying that in FED that B cannot decline Intentional Grounding and accept the result of the play? What if the result of the intentional grounding was actually an intercepted pass, returned for a TD by B? In Fed, did the pass in essence never occur?

Rich Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Wait a minute...

Are you saying that in FED that B cannot decline Intentional Grounding and accept the result of the play? What if the result of the intentional grounding was actually an intercepted pass, returned for a TD by B? In Fed, did the pass in essence never occur?

Of course they can take the result of the play. The result of the play in FED is the ball is spotted at the end of the related run prior to the illegal pass. Safety.

MD Longhorn Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:52am

So in Fed, if a QB was about to get sacked, and just winged it to his left, where no receivers were, and this pass was caught by B, you nullify the interception merely because there were no A receivers in the area?

Not complaining, just trying to clarify this, since I don't work FED.

Indy_Stu Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:54am

Thanks, result is always a safety due to IFP
 
Thanks to all who courteously and unassumingly posted, to clarify this IFP situation to me:
waltjp
kdf5
HawkeyeCubP
whitehat52
JasonTX
Bob M.

Bob M. post at 10:51 helped seal the deal for me. I do not know NCAA rules as I only do HS football. This would be one situation (IFP from own end zone) that IMO would be good to unify the codes. I would like to see B have options, like they do on other enforcements.

Maybe I will direct this to Mr. B. Cox - - the next time we play golf!

kdf5 Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
So in Fed, if a QB was about to get sacked, and just winged it to his left, where no receivers were, and this pass was caught by B, you nullify the interception merely because there were no A receivers in the area?

Not complaining, just trying to clarify this, since I don't work FED.

In Fed it depends on where the pass was thrown from and whether it was completed or not. An incomplete illegal forward pass is a running play, not a passing play. A completed IFP is a completed pass but still a running play for enforcement.

An incomplete illegal forward pass thrown from in the EZ will be a safety since it's by rule (don't have books, can't cite rule number) a safety. Declined, it's a safety because the run ended in the EZ. An incomplete IFP from the field of play is treated the same - as a run. A completed IFP is simply a completed pass. Penalties out in the field of play are enforced using basic ABO enforcement.

Say, for example, that A throws a long illegal forward pass downfield from the A 45 and it was 4th and 10. B intercepts and is tackled on the B 20. B would accept the IFP which would give B the ball on the A 40 1/10 rather than keep the INT because the IFP has loss of down provisions and is enforced from the end of the run which is the A 45. I hope I didn't muddy this too bad.

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
So in Fed, if a QB was about to get sacked, and just winged it to his left, where no receivers were, and this pass was caught by B, you nullify the interception merely because there were no A receivers in the area?

Not complaining, just trying to clarify this, since I don't work FED.

REPLY: No mcrowder...of course B can take the result of the play. And if they intercept the pass and take it to the house, good for them. But...if the pass is incomplete, the result of the play leaves the ball at the spot of the pass (safety). It cannot be placed at the previous spot like it would be for a legal forward pass. That seems to be what had Indy_Stu confused.

Indy_Stu Thu Sep 14, 2006 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: No mcrowder...of course B can take the result of the play. And if they intercept the pass and take it to the house, good for them. But...if the pass is incomplete, the result of the play leaves the ball at the spot of the pass (safety). It cannot be placed at the previous spot like it would be for a legal forward pass. That seems to be what had Indy_Stu confused.

That is <i>precisely</i> what had me confused - - only a <b>LEGAL</b> forward pass is returned to the previous spot upon an incompletion.

IFP from end zone, when pass is incomplete, the basic spot for any subsequent action (next down if declined, enforcement if accepted) is the end of the run. Result will be a safety.

Bob M. thanks again for your professional and courteous replies/posts.

waltjp Thu Sep 14, 2006 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder
So in Fed, if a QB was about to get sacked, and just winged it to his left, where no receivers were, and this pass was caught by B, you nullify the interception merely because there were no A receivers in the area?

Not complaining, just trying to clarify this, since I don't work FED.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob M.
REPLY: No mcrowder...of course B can take the result of the play. And if they intercept the pass and take it to the house, good for them. But...if the pass is incomplete, the result of the play leaves the ball at the spot of the pass (safety). It cannot be placed at the previous spot like it would be for a legal forward pass. That seems to be what had Indy_Stu confused.


Bob,

You made the same error that I did. The poster you responded to was not mcrowder. It's mbcrowder. Had me confused at first glance too.

mcrowder Thu Sep 14, 2006 03:20pm

An imposter?!??!!

waltjp Thu Sep 14, 2006 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
An imposter?!??!!

Take it as a sign of flattery!

Bob M. Thu Sep 14, 2006 04:51pm

REPLY: waltjp..thenaks for straightening me out...or is it waltpj??

waltjp Thu Sep 14, 2006 06:20pm

I've been called worse, Bob. ;)

sloth Thu Sep 14, 2006 09:30pm

Stu-

I think the rule book ref. you want is 7-5-3..."if the penalty for an illegal forward pass is accepted, measurement is from the spot of such forward pass. If the offended team declines the distance penalty, it has the choice of having the down counted at the spot of the illegal incomplete forward pass or (if the illegal forward pass is caught or intercepted) of having the ball in play as determined by the action which follwed the catch."

7-5-2 c&d define intentional grounding as an illegal forward pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1