The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Fair Catch (https://forum.officiating.com/football/28258-fair-catch.html)

monsignor Tue Sep 12, 2006 03:01pm

Fair Catch
 
If the receiving teams committs a foul on a Fair Catch. Do they still get the choice to put the ball in play either by a snap or kick ? I am unable to find anything in the rule or case both HS.

The Roamin' Umpire Tue Sep 12, 2006 03:24pm

Well, NF 4-2-2c doesn't say anything about a penalty. The fair catch was made, so I would say yes, they may free kick if they so desire.

monsignor Thu Sep 14, 2006 01:20pm

Fair Catch
 
I need a rule reference for the play. R fair catches a ball and R holds during the kick. Does R still get the chance to kick or snap even though they fouled.

mcrowder Thu Sep 14, 2006 03:28pm

You won't find a rule reference stating that they can free kick after a penalty. You'll find a rule reference stating they can free kick after a fair catch. Period. Since there is no rule stating that they lose this right if they foul on the play (just as there is no rule stating that they lose this right if the punter is left footed), you can assume the penalty is as irrelevant as the footedness of the punter, and just go by the rule that says they can free kick after a fair catch.

Middleman Thu Sep 14, 2006 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
You won't find a rule reference stating that they can free kick after a penalty. You'll find a rule reference stating they can free kick after a fair catch. Period. Since there is no rule stating that they lose this right if they foul on the play (just as there is no rule stating that they lose this right if the punter is left footed), you can assume the penalty is as irrelevant as the footedness of the punter, and just go by the rule that says they can free kick after a fair catch.

Well, here's some food for thought ... the actual rule says "The captain may choose to free kick or snap ... on the yard line through the spot of the catch ..." If a psk foul is enforced following a fair catch, the ball will not be placed on the yard line through the spot of the catch.

MJT Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Middleman
Well, here's some food for thought ... the actual rule says "The captain may choose to free kick or snap ... on the yard line through the spot of the catch ..." If a psk foul is enforced following a fair catch, the ball will not be placed on the yard line through the spot of the catch.

Good point Middleman, and it says the options to FK after a FC or awarded FC remains if
  • A dead ball foul occurs (did not happen)
  • A foul or IW occurs during the down following the FC, and the down is replayed (this foul was on FC play, not the next down)

neither of these has occured, and with what you pointed out, I'd say the do not still have the opportunity to FK if a PSK foul occured.

I'll be interested to see what some of the others have to say.

whitehat52 Fri Sep 15, 2006 05:42am

MJT

I'll take 1 shot at this. The rule states that R may choose to snap or free kick from the yard line that the fair catch or awarded fair catch was made. If you are going to take away the option to free kick because the ball is no longer on the yard line of the fair catch, why aren't you also taking away the option to snap? You can't enforce 1 part of the statement but not enforce the 2nd part. If you take away both options we can't legally continue to put the ball in play. After the penalty R will still have the option to free kick if they choose to.

mcrowder Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Middleman
Well, here's some food for thought ... the actual rule says "The captain may choose to free kick or snap ... on the yard line through the spot of the catch ..." If a psk foul is enforced following a fair catch, the ball will not be placed on the yard line through the spot of the catch.

:)

So what ARE you going to allow after a psk foul? Apparently something other than a free kick or snap!

Seriously - I see your point, but if you use this rule as strictly as it seems you want to, the captain has NO choices. You can't invalidate the free kick option using your logic without also invalidating the snap option.

mcrowder Fri Sep 15, 2006 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by whitehat52
MJT

I'll take 1 shot at this. The rule states that R may choose to snap or free kick from the yard line that the fair catch or awarded fair catch was made. If you are going to take away the option to free kick because the ball is no longer on the yard line of the fair catch, why aren't you also taking away the option to snap? You can't enforce 1 part of the statement but not enforce the 2nd part. If you take away both options we can't legally continue to put the ball in play. After the penalty R will still have the option to free kick if they choose to.

Ack ... you beat me to it!!! (I'll leave my other post anyway, but WH52 said it before I did.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1