![]() |
hook and ladder play
On a hook and ladder play the receiver jumps in the air to catch the pass and while still in the air throws it back to his teammate. His teammate muffs it, the ball bounces off the ground once and the defense picks it up on the bounce and returns it for 20 yards before he is downed. Ruling??
|
The receiver never touched the ground before the backward pass to his teammate therefore it is an incomplete pass.
|
Right, I revise my response. The first reciever never came into contact with the ground while in posession of the ball so we have an incomplete pass.
|
Incomplete.
This is simply an A player legally batting a legal forward pass that is eventually grounded. 9-7-3, 2-1-3, 2-2, 2-4-1, 2-30-1 |
Ok, so now what if when he tosses is to his teammate, it is forward and his teammate runs for a TD?
|
If the pass was forward then this forward batting is a legal play. If the first pass is backward and the bat causes the ball to go forward then we have illegal batting, 9-7-3.
|
Under NCAA any player eligible to touch the pass may bat the ball in any direction. Is NFHS different than that? If so, what happens to all those players who jump up to bat the ball down to avoid a catch or interception?
|
Quote:
For a backwards pass, I think A would be pretty crazy to bat the ball down to avoid an interception, and that's the only case where it would be illegal (assuming it was batted forward). |
NF or NCAA: It's a legal continuation of a forward pass play by an airborne receiver whether he batted forward or backward.
It also becomes an incomplete pass should it become grounded. A rarely seen play (Peach Bowl anyone). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am. |