The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Questions from the Part I test (https://forum.officiating.com/football/27927-questions-part-i-test.html)

OverAndBack Tue Aug 22, 2006 02:38pm

Questions from the Part I test

First off, does everybody in every state take the same test? I apologize in advance for not knowing that.

I was taking the thing on deadline and was getting frustrated because (a) the rule book isn't written in English and (b ) the test is written specifically to try to mess you up. So that, and the fact I'm only in my third year, hopefully earns me some slack.

But I have questions on the 5 questions I got wrong:

17. The kicker or place-kick holder may be blocked as soon as the kick has touched the ground or any other player. (italics mine)

Rule 9-3-4 says:
The kicker or place-kick holder of a free kick may not be blocked before:
a. He has advanced 5 yards beyond his free-kick line.
b. The kick has touched the ground or any other player.

To me, that's vaguely worded. The rule doesn't say a OR b. It has an a. and it has a b.

Am I wrong to look at that and think that means a and b?

28. A substitute becomes a player upon entering the huddle or when positioned in a formation.

I think I snookered myself on this one because, while it's true that a sub becomes a player under those two conditions, those aren't the only conditions.

Rule 2-31-15 says:

A substitute becomes a player when he enters the field and communicates with a teammate or an official, enters the huddle, is positioned in a formation or participates in the play.

Here I outthought myself, I guess, because I was thinking it was a trick question. Obviously, the answer is "True, but there are other ways as well." I should have shut it off at "True." BTW, apparently 98% of the people in my state got it right, so, yes, I'm a moron.