![]() |
backwards pass
What would you have for this one?
Team A QB drops back to pass from B's 2 yard line. After scrambling for a few seconds he throws a backwards pass that is deflected by B and the ball... 1. lands in the EZ and comes to rest there with no one recovering it. 2. goes out of bounds in the EZ. |
Safety
As long as the "deflection" was made before the ball hit the ground for the first time, no new impetus is given to the ball, team A is responsible for the ball becoming dead in their EZ. Safety.
If the ball had already touched the ground before the "deflection", then B could impart new impetus by _batting_ the ball. In this case it would be a touchback. For an official to rule new impetus, the batting should be very clear and deliberate, though; if in doubt, consider it a muff and no new impetus. |
1) The ball is still in possession of team A, therefore a touchdown.
2) Muffing or batting of a pass is not considered a new force and since A is responsible for the force I have a touchback. |
Yikes!
I'd hate to award a TD on this play if the ball is just lying there. Hopefully, someone will realize that there's been no whistle and attempt to cover the ball or pick it up.
|
Quote:
|
KBAustria: A's snap was from the B-2 yardline. The ball winds up in B's EZ
|
Quote:
#2 will never happen...never!! |
Heh.
Overlooked that one really good, didn't I? Actually a very simular thing happened over here involving a fumble that nobody wanted and that came to rest in B's EZ. But a coach started to yell in time (before one of us was forced to signal the play dead), and the whole thing became a "real" TD. Was a ladies game, BTW. |
1) Live ball. (Certainly can't have a touchdown without possession.)
2) Touchback. |
Quote:
|
I stand corrected
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's a case question. No one is proposing that they've actually seen it happen. But it could. |
Let the re-learning commence
Never mind - 4-2-2-e-2. Got it.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm. |