The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA Rules Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/26621-ncaa-rules-question.html)

RazorRef Thu May 18, 2006 08:56am

NCAA Rules Question
 
I've read and know where the rules is for going out of bounds as a receiver and returning to touch an untouched pass, but where in the NCAA rulebook is going out of bounds and returning discussed? I'm taking quizes and there are always questions about a player voluntarily going out of bounds and returning to do something like block or recover a fumble or something like that. Thanks in advance!

JasonTX Thu May 18, 2006 09:54am

On just standard scrimmage plays there is no foul for a player running OOB and returning. As you have found he just becomes ineligible to touch a legal forward pass prior to it touching a team B player or an official. As far as coming back in and touching a fumble there is no foul for doing that. There is a foul for going out of bounds and returning during a scrimmage kick and free kick by team A. Rule 6-3-12 covers the scrimmage kick and rule 6-1-2-g covers free kicks. Those two rules are basically the same. If a player of the kicking team goes OOB voluntarily and returns he has fouled. The foul is simply for going OOB and returning. A couple of years ago it was a foul for touching the ball in that scenario, but that rule was changed and is no longer a foul for touching the ball.

RazorRef Thu May 18, 2006 10:05am

Ok, great...thanks for clearing that up. I'm used to NFHS rules where a player cannot go out of bounds and return to participate in any play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1