![]() |
Fundamental 13: If a penalty is accepted for any foul by either team during the last timed down of a period, the period must be extended by an untimed down.
Rule 3-3-3-a: A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down, one of the following occurs: a: There was a foul, other than unsportsmanlike of non-player, by either team and the penalty is accepted. Which one of the above is correct? They both can't be right, can they? To me, if the rule is correct, the fundamental has to be wrong because an unsportsmanlike or non-player foul DOES NOT extend the period! They're both still fouls are they not? They both can happen during a live ball! By the way, this is National Federation! [Edited by rdodom on Jul 6th, 2001 at 05:27 PM] |
Unsportsmanlike foul by non-player does not affect action on field. I see no cotradiction. The rule should be written better. I don't have a case book. If you do, check it out.
Bob |
3-3-3a concerns fouls that occur during the down. But non-player and unsportsmanlike fouls are treated like dead ball fouls. Therefore, they don't affect extending the end of a period.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21pm. |