![]() |
A16 takes the snap and drops back from center. He throws the ball "forward" to A32, who is still behind the line of scrimmage. Can A32 now throw a legal forward pass downfield?
In other words, does a "double pass play" require the first pass to be a lateral? |
Quote:
BTW, what's a lateral? |
This is legal only in FED. There is no limit to the number of forward passes, if each pass is thrown from behind the line. No rule book recognizes "lateral". That's a term used by announcers. Lateral means sideways. Announcers use the term to describe backward. They also refer to a muffed kick as a fumble, so you know how much they know about rules.
Bob |
I agree, however there can be more than two passes as long as the passes are thrown behind the line of scrimmage.
|
Quote:
|
It's legal in FED. Illegal in NCAA and NFL.
Bob |
For the benefit of member Filknz, and and possibly others,
the first pass reception can be beyond the NZ. That receiver can return behind the NZ and throw a second pass. Of course all other rules for ineligibles apply during the entire play as well as the DPI/OPI stuff. It's all in rule seven. |
Defensive pass interference restrictions will end as soon as the first FORWARD pass is touched. Offensive pass interference restrictions will continue until the last forward pass is touched.
|
Yes WREF, that point was not clear in my short post. All I meant to say was all that good stuff is in rule 7.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm. |