The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   NCAA Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/24639-ncaa-question.html)

tpaul Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:42pm

I was reviewing tape of the Orange Bowl game. During the play the QB scrambled out of the pocket toward the side line and threw it about 15 yards downfield and out of bounds. Three ineligible linemen went downfield. A flag was thrown but the referee waived it off, is that right? He said because the ball was thrown OOBs pass the LOS...

Texas Aggie Tue Jan 31, 2006 10:15pm

The rule states a "legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone." Further, a legal forward pass is behind or beyond the neutral zone where it crosses the sideline. There's no exceptions regarding out of bounds, and this was a legal forward pass. Thus, it shouldn't have been waived off if it was as you described.

JasonTX Wed Feb 01, 2006 09:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
The rule states a "legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone." Further, a legal forward pass is behind or beyond the neutral zone where it crosses the sideline. There's no exceptions regarding out of bounds, and this was a legal forward pass. Thus, it shouldn't have been waived off if it was as you described.
Actually this was a good "wave off". By the definition, A legal forward pass has crossed the neutral zone when it first strikes the ground, a player, an official or anything beyond the neutral zone INBOUNDS. In the play, the ball never struck anything inbounds, so by rule it is deemed to have NOT CROSSED the neutral zone. Ineligibles downfield require the pass to cross the neutral zone.

mcrowder Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:15pm

So then why wasn't it intentional grounding?

JasonTX Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
So then why wasn't it intentional grounding?
The rule for intentional grounding mentions that the pass has to land beyond the NZ, not cross it. This allows him to get rid of the ball by throwing it OOB's, just as long as it lands somewhere beyond the NZ. Had the rule read that the pass had to cross the NZ he wouldn't be able to "dump it" OOB's.

Texas Aggie Wed Feb 01, 2006 02:19pm

Jason: I disagree, and stated why. Read "C": A legal forward pass is behind or beyond the NZ where it crosses the sideline.

"A" determines where a pass is that falls within the playing field. "C" determines where the pass is that falls outside the playing field. Under your interp, there'd be no reason for "C." Further, "A" doesn't give an option for a pass striking anything OOB, just inbounds -- both beyond or behind. There has to be some consideration for a pass striking something OOB, and that's "C."

What they need to do is add the word, "catchable" to the ineligibles rule in 7 and make this a legal (in most cases) play. While the rules allow a QB to chunk the ball OOB beyond the NZ (outside the tackles) to avoid a tackle, it doesn't and shouldn't allow such to avoid a penalty. His remedy is to run.

tpaul Wed Feb 01, 2006 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
So then why wasn't it intentional grounding?
The rule for intentional grounding mentions that the pass has to land beyond the NZ, not cross it. This allows him to get rid of the ball by throwing it OOB's, just as long as it lands somewhere beyond the NZ. Had the rule read that the pass had to cross the NZ he wouldn't be able to "dump it" OOB's.

JasonTX,
Thanks for clearing that up for me as I do not work NCAA rules...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1