The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Intentional Grounding (https://forum.officiating.com/football/24047-intentional-grounding.html)

DFinsFootball54 Thu Jan 05, 2006 01:11am

If a passer is hit while throwing the ball and it lands no where near a receiver, does it still count as intentional grounding? My roomate and I have a bet going and we need someone to settle it... thanks

JRutledge Thu Jan 05, 2006 01:21am

Yes and no. It depends on the judgment of the calling official if the throwing the ball was an attempt to dump the ball. Strictly a judgment call by the official.

Peace

DFinsFootball54 Thu Jan 05, 2006 01:25am

thanks man!!

MJT Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:07am

I agree on the judgement part of what Rut is saying. I have been instructed to look at where it appeared the QB was throwing the ball and how much the contact on him affected his throw. If there is contact on him while he is in the throwing motion, the QB will get the benifit of doubt.

jjrye22 Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:35am

With the mechanics we use here, they want us to give the passer the 'benifit of the doubt' - there are a bunch of doubt rule, 'When in doubt it is...' and we have been told that if he is hit when throwing (the arm has started forward) - we say the hit affected the course of the throw.

Of course if there is no doubt in your mind that it is grounding you can throw it ...

James



Dommer1 Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:28am

James,

I have a feeling that this is slowly changing. It's just a hunch, but I think you'll see a change in how we (EFAF) interpret these situations, and I think we'll start putting some of this responsibility back on the QB, as the posts above describe.

That seems to be the way bothe college and the pros are starting to do it, and it'll probably "trickle down" to us as well eventually.

grantsrc Fri Jan 06, 2006 07:17am

I think you have to look at the severity of the contact and its impact on the QB and throw. If he is wrapped up a little and that "causes" the throw to be off, I don't buy that. But if he gets drilled, then I would give him a little more leway.

Rick KY Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:01am

Here's another twist on contact on the passer.

Defender B50 has QB A1's legs wrapped at the ankles so QB is left standing, but unable to walk/run. After a second or two A1 a) throws an incomplete pass toward a nearby eligible receiver, or b) throws the ball away OOB with no eligible near the pass.

Would you not call the ball dead, forward progress stopped, or let the play go because the QB is standing and able to pass the ball?

[Edited by Rick KY on Jan 13th, 2006 at 11:03 AM]

Bob M. Fri Jan 13, 2006 11:15am

REPLY: One common technique used to judge when a player's forward progress is stopped is to see when a runner has lost the voluntary use of his legs. In your example, as I see it, the QB's forward progress has been stopped according to that judgment technique.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1