The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2005, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Bob,
You are absolutely correct. I missed that he received the pass at the 30. It is a legal kick. I don't absolve the defender of responsibility for the contact. I merely defer to the wing-official on the line to make the judgement call.
By definition a scrimmage kick formation requires the kicker to be at least 7 yards removed from the snapper with no other player in position to take a direct snap. Since this is not a kick formation, certain reservations, exceptions and other protections don't attach. For example the snapper isn't afforded protection because the recipient of the snap is only 6 yards deep.
The kicker was not in a kicking position: at, immediately proximate to, or after the snap, except as he kicked the bal. If he took no steps forward, merely swung his leg to make contact, there is also no action simulating a kick, nor is there any action preparatory to making a kick as is customarily seen.
Sooooooooooo - was the defender behaving within the limits of football and demonstrating the techniques associated with properly and legitimately playing his position on defense, and was contact unavoidable?
__________________
Essayons
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1