The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   scrimmage kick (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22972-scrimmage-kick.html)

Forksref Tue Nov 01, 2005 12:59pm

K in punt formation at K40, 4/8. Bad snap, K36 kicks the ball, the ball hits the ground at K's 35, hits R70 at K's 38. K89 falls on the ball at R's 48 yd line. K's ball or R's ball?

schwinn Tue Nov 01, 2005 01:10pm

5-1-4...If the kickers recover a scrimmage kick in or behind the NZ and the ball has not been touched first by R beyond the NZ, the ball remains live and belongs to K and the down counts.

The ball goes over to R since K was in possession behind the line to gain after 4th down. Clock on the snap.

Edit: I think I misread this. The ball was recovered by K at R's 48. I was thinking recovered at K's 38. I agree with roaminumpire, my bad. R's ball.



[Edited by schwinn on Nov 1st, 2005 at 02:31 PM]

The Roamin' Umpire Tue Nov 01, 2005 01:28pm

That's quite the bouncing ball - it went 14 yards after hitting the R player at the K38!

In this situation, you have first touching by K - they were first to touch the kick <b>beyond the neutral zone</b>. 5-1-4 does not apply because the ball was recovered beyond (not in or behind) the NZ. R's ball at the point it was first touched by K.

booker227 Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:38pm

Ignore the touching by R in the expanded nuetral zone
6-2-6. K has gounded the ball (first touching) so it will be R's ball at the spot of first touching


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1