![]() |
A 2/20 @ A40. A12 drops back to pass. As A12 scrambles, B99 grabs A12's face mask (PF). A12 breaks away and throws a completed pass to A88 who is tackled at B's 45. Ruling:
|
15 yards on the end of run.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Sounds to me as if you do not have a roughing the passer call. If that is the case A would have the following options.
Refuse the penalty and accept the result of the play 3rd down and 5 at B's 45. Accept the penalty which has previous spot enforcment move 15 yards and have 2nd down and 5 at B's 45. |
The foul occurred before the pass, so it is part of a loose ball play. The basic spot is then the previous spot. So A has the choice of accepting enforcement from the previous spot or taking the result of the play.
In this case, if A takes the penalty, it will be second and 5 at B's 45. If they decline the penalty, it will be third and 5 at B's 45. |
I agree with BOB And I3will
|
Correct on loose-ball play. And, you can not have RTP on this foul if it occurs prior to the pass as you do not yet have a passer. 15 yards from previous spot & replay of down.
|
so, if you have a roughing the passer penalty and the pass is completed, what you people are saying you would not add 15 yards on top of that? it is still a loose ball play. in the play described here it is 15 yards on the end of run.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This play DID NOT have RTP. It was a face mask foul, prior to the pass.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Loose ball personal foul face-mask. The basic spot for enforcement of a loose-ball foul is the preceeding spot. A can accept the penalty which would put the ball on B's 45, and replay the down, or they can decline the penalty which would put the ball on B's 45 but, third down
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03am. |