The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 147
rule 7-2-7

Rule 7-2-7 "...the player in motion shall be at least 5 yards behind his line of scrimmage at the snap if he started from any position not clearly behind the line and did not establish himself as a back by stopping for at least one second..."

Here's the play. A2 lines up as a tight end. He doesn't assume a 3 point and he is covered by a recieve to his side. Prior to the snap the A2 takes a step back and goes in motion just behind the LOS (runs between QB in shotgun and offensive line). The snap occurs while he is still in motion. I've seen this paly and never thought to throw the flag. Apparently if I interperate this rule correctly, it is illegal motion. Also, does the false start also apply if he got in a three point and then tried to go in motion?

Sloth
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1