The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 15, 2005, 12:32pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
The wing on our crew last night was calling illegal motion on the following situation. We got talking about it later and I'm not certain we were doing things right.

A lines up with 8 on the line. The end realizes too many are on the line, so he moves back. While he's moving back, the ball is snapped. Ruling?

This was happening all night. This team was constantly confused on where ot lineup and got flagged multiple times for not being set, multiple guys in motion, and the above situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 15, 2005, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
7-2-7
Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent's goal line. Except for the player "under the snapper," as outlined in Article 3, the player in motion shall be at least 5 yards behind his line of scrimmage at the snap if he started from any position not clearly behind the line and did not establish himself as a back by stopping for at least one full second while no part of his body is breaking the vertical plane through the waistline of his nearest teammate who is on the line of scrimmage.

Sounds like illegal motion to me. It's not a shift because he didn't reset for one second prior to the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 15, 2005, 09:05pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Agreed.

To bad he didn't know that it is not a problem to have 8 on the LOS.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 16, 2005, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 62
He would have been fine if he would have established his position off the line of scrimmage (i.e. be set for 1 seconds with everyone else) and then gone in motion from there. Definetly sounds like a foul that is simultaneous with the snap for illegal motion from here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1