The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
I have a new spin on this play:

Rule 6-2-4
Any kicker may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the neutral zone or the expanded neutral zone, provided such kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching. Such touching is ignored if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball...

In my opinion, the spirit behind 6-2-4 would apply to the play first posted in this thread. Even though the K player pushed an R player who was not going to catch the kick, K's pushing R2 into R1 caused the muff which could be argued is covered by rule 6-2-4.

My ruling: Ignore the touching by R and consider K's recovery as first touching. R's ball at the spot of K's recovery and no foul for KCI.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1