The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Muff Rule (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22503-muff-rule.html)

U52 Fri Oct 07, 2005 01:25pm

If A is punting the ball and R calls for a fair catch and muffs the punt, can another player from B return the ball for positve yardage, or must the ball be brought back to the spot of the fair catch signal?

Bob M. Fri Oct 07, 2005 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by U52
If A is punting the ball and R calls for a fair catch and muffs the punt, can another player from B return the ball for positve yardage, or must the ball be brought back to the spot of the fair catch signal?
REPLY After any B player signals for a fair catch, the ball will become dead as soon as he or a teammate catches or recovers the kick. That spot will become the succeeding spot.

BktBallRef Fri Oct 07, 2005 01:31pm

A punts, R receives, where does B enter the equation? :)

U52 Fri Oct 07, 2005 01:43pm

My bad, B should have been R! Sorry for the confusion.

Forksref Mon Oct 10, 2005 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
A punts, R receives, where does B enter the equation? :)
picky picky picky


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1