![]() |
NFHS: On a kick-off, the kick was bouncing on the ground. After the ball bounced about 9 yards, K blocked R to keep them away from the ball. After the ball bounced 11 yards, it was untouched and K recovered.
We ruled K's ball with no foul. I haven't research it yet to find if we were correct or not, but it just doesn't "seem" right that K blocked R from the ball. Thoughts? |
I got nuttin!
|
I agree
Yeah you have nothing....however the NCAA requires that K not "block" until they may legally touch the ball...
|
Canadian Ruling
K would be assessed a penalty for illegal interference while the ball is loose. 1/10 to R at the point of the foul.
|
I got plenty o' nuttin and nuttin's plenty for me.
|
NFHS made this a foul as an experimental rule a couple years ago in my state, but it's not currently in the rulebook.
|
I wonder how long it will take for coaches to learn about this loophole in the rules and start doing this on every onside kick. I bet you'll see the rule changed to be more like NCAA in a rush.
|
K can not block R in the back to recover the ball within the 10 yard area (like with a fumble) because they can't legally touch the ball until it has gone 10 yards.
|
Kick/catch interference?
Why would this not be interference on K?
J |
Re: Kick/catch interference?
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am. |