The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   What would be your call? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22430-what-would-your-call.html)

smith55js Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:02pm

This is from a game a while back. In it, the team in white punts from their 6 yd line. The punter muffs the snap and gets the kick off. The kick only goes to the 2 yd line where the receiving team (purple) touches it. The kicking team recovers the ball on the 7 yd line and was allowed to return it.

Should the play have been blown dead when the kicking team touched it beyond the LOS?

If you want to see a video clip, here is a link:

http://football.boxelderbees.net/mistake4.wmv

JasonTX Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:28pm

The kicking team touching the kick doesn't make it dead. Possessing the kick makes the ball dead in a punt that is beyond the line of scrimmage. Keep in mind a scrimmage kick that doesn't cross the line is a live ball and can be advanced by either team. This play the ball is very close to the line when the kicking team picks it up. If they ruled that the ball didn't cross the line then the advance was legal.

irefky Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:28pm

From what I could tell, K recovered the blocked punt behind the NZ and were able to advance the ball forward. If they acheived the line to gain, first down for the white tops.

irefky Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
The kicking team touching the kick doesn't make it dead. Possessing the kick makes the ball dead in a punt that is beyond the line of scrimmage. Keep in mind a scrimmage kick that doesn't cross the line is a live ball and can be advanced by either team. This play the ball is very close to the line when the kicking team picks it up. If they ruled that the ball didn't cross the line then the advance was legal.
that is why it is very important that the HL stays at home to make sure the punt goes across the NZ.

[Edited by irefky on Oct 3rd, 2005 at 04:54 PM]

Snake~eyes Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by irefky
Quote:

Originally posted by JasonTX
The kicking team touching the kick doesn't make it dead. Possessing the kick makes the ball dead in a punt that is beyond the line of scrimmage. Keep in mind a scrimmage kick that doesn't cross the line is a live ball and can be advanced by either team. This play the ball is very close to the line when the kicking team picks it up. If they ruled that the ball didn't cross the line then the advance was legal.
that is why it is very important that the HL stays at home to make sure the puts goes across the NZ.

Agreed, this one is very close, looks like it might have crossed but again I could see it go either way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1