The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Fed Misconceptions (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22425-fed-misconceptions.html)

parepat Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:25am

Re: Reporting
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jaysef
That brings up a question me and my crew have discussed: In what circumstances is a player to report to the WH as eligible, and, is this reported just to the officials, or to the defense, and opposing coach as well?
The only "reporting requirement" that I can recall is prior to running a planned loose ball play per 7-2-8.

Jaysef Tue Oct 04, 2005 02:41pm

Thanks
 
Yes, I did read the posting prior to mine, since I replied to it. I simply wanted to find out any situations requiring reporting...sorry it wasn't made clear.

Thanks grantsrc, and parepat

Kirby Wed Oct 05, 2005 08:47am

On Friday I had an assistant coach request for me to throw the flag because the other team was taking their helmets off before they were off the field. "That's an NFL rule coach!"

Another common NFL-related FED misconception: not Intentional Grounding if outside the pocket.

I've also spoke with a lot of guys who don't realize that it is OPI if an ineligible receiver touches the pass beyond the LOS. They've asked me, "why would you call OPI there?" I tell them that it's word for word in the rule book.


buckrog64 Thu Oct 06, 2005 04:41pm

The play is blown dead when B obtains possession, unless A fumbles in their own end zone or some crazy thing. Many people believe when B intercepts in OT, he can run it back for a TD (NF Rules).

buckrog64 Thu Oct 06, 2005 04:44pm

Please read the previous as 'possession gained during OT' for clarification.

The other misconception is that people think they don't have to buy a round after blowing an IW. And if said crew is in the presence of other officials who are also in an emporium while on the road, and they are quenching their thirst, that those officials must be included in the round as well, provided every crew has a designated driver.

Forksref Thu Oct 06, 2005 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by buckrog64
Please read the previous as 'possession gained during OT' for clarification.

The other misconception is that people think they don't have to buy a round after blowing an IW. And if said crew is in the presence of other officials who are also in an emporium while on the road, and they are quenching their thirst, that those officials must be included in the round as well, provided every crew has a designated driver.

As in the daily workplace, "whistleblowers" get punished.

PSU213 Thu Oct 06, 2005 09:48pm

The other day in a subvarsity game (though the level doesn't really matter)...defense encroaches, I blow it dead, 5 yards on B. Coach says, "but he had time to get back."

Suudy Fri Oct 07, 2005 09:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by PSU213
The other day in a subvarsity game (though the level doesn't really matter)...defense encroaches, I blow it dead, 5 yards on B. Coach says, "but he had time to get back."
And I frequently get "He can't bumb our receiver after 5 yard!" I reply, "He can on Friday."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1