The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Punt ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22424-punt-ruling.html)

Jaysef Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:52am

4th and 15 for A, A's scrimmage kick is a line drive that hits B lineman and ball deflects: (a) beyond the expanded neutral zone, where it is recovered by A. (b) behind the neutral zone, recovered by A. (c) Out of bounds

This occurred in a 5th/6th grade game, and the officials gave ball to A, 1st and 10.

NFHS cites a condition (not sure where, I don't have my book), where touching is ignored on a line drive punt.

Therefore, I have B's ball in all situations. Any thoughts?

Same ruling if A's lineman was the recipient of the fast ball to the helmet?

Jaysef

ChickenOfNC Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:02am

No
 
In the second situation, where the ball ends up behing the ENZ, it is K's ball. They also can advance the ball in this situation.

Jim S Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:05am

Unless the B "lineman" was beyond the EXPANDED neutral zone the touching should have been ignorged. You would be correct in your rulings if K was downed in b. before reaching the line to gain.

Jaysef Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:06am

line to gain not reached
 
NC,

I still think ball goes to B, since in none of the situations stated, did A reach the LTG.

J

ChickenOfNC Mon Oct 03, 2005 11:28am

correct
 
I wasn't clear. In B, it's not automatically K's ball. He would in fact have to reach the line to gain.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1