The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Game play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22404-game-play.html)

tpaul Sat Oct 01, 2005 06:16pm

Every now and again if I do not have a varsity game I like to go out and watch a game. I like to see how the crew works and maybe I'll pick something up that they do...

Well, I saw this play happen on friday night.


A 1st and 10 on the 50. A23 runs off the right tackle and gets to B's 10 yard line where he fumbles. The ball hits the ground at 7 yard line and then again at the 5 and then again in B's end zone. While the ball is in B's end zone B21 bats it back on to the field of play where it goes out of bounds at B's 1 yard line. Ruling:

I will note that the crew on the game awarded the ball to B at the B 20 (TB). Which is wrong! What should be the choices?

[Edited by tpaul on Oct 1st, 2005 at 08:22 PM]

BktBallRef Sat Oct 01, 2005 07:02pm

I hate batting questions. Thankfully, I've never had such a play.

Illegal batting by B in B's endzone. That's a safety.

But if A is smart, the decline the penalty and take the ball at the B1.

Is that even close to right, 'cause I ain't lookin' it up?

kentref Sat Oct 01, 2005 08:08pm

I agree that awarding the ball to B is incorrect.
If the foul by B is declined it's A's ball at B's 1, 1st and goal.
The basic spot for penalty enforcement is the end of the run (B's 10), so a foul by the defense would be enforced half the distance to B's 5 where it would be 1st and goal for A.

don't move Sat Oct 01, 2005 08:50pm

Kentref is right, no safety. A can have it at the 5 or at the 1.

tpaul Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:06pm

Yes, kentref... you got this one perfect!

l3will Sun Oct 02, 2005 08:07am

Just curious, since the crew awarded the ball to B at the 20,
which I agree is wrong, did they flag the illegal batting?

From the original description, I would guess that they ruled that B was merely trying to secure possession... just a guess.

If there were no foul, it should have been A's ball at the one.


JugglingReferee Sun Oct 02, 2005 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tpaul
A 1st and 10 on the 50. A23 runs off the right tackle and gets to B's 10 yard line where he fumbles. The ball hits the ground at 7 yard line and then again at the 5 and then again in B's end zone. While the ball is in B's end zone B21 bats it back on to the field of play where it goes out of bounds at B's 1 yard line.
Our equivalent to the touchback. B 1D/10 @ B-20.

tpaul Sun Oct 02, 2005 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by l3will
Just curious, since the crew awarded the ball to B at the 20, which I agree is wrong, did they flag the illegal batting?

From the original description, I would guess that they ruled that B was merely trying to secure possession... just a guess.

If there were no foul, it should have been A's ball at the one.

No flag was thrown on the play but it was illegal batting without a doubt. I did get to talk with the back judge. He felt they rushed their ruling and really didn't talk it over.

Bob M. Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:04am

REPLY: I don't usually disagree with BBR, but I think I'll make an exception here. :) I agree with kentref...

The batting by B is illegal. Flag it. If A declines the penalty for B's foul, it will be their ball, 1st and Goal at B's 1. If they accept the penalty, remember it was a <u>running</u> play. Penalize B half the distance from the end of A23's run. A's ball, 1st and goal from B's 5. It will not be a safety.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1