The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Scrimmage kick question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22290-scrimmage-kick-question.html)

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 24, 2005 03:40pm

Punter A1 punts the ball and hits his center in the backside. the ball rebounds to A1 who picks it up behind the NZ and advances for a first down. Call?

I think I blew this last night, but BOTH coaches were happy. What is the correct ruling?

BulldogMcC Sat Sep 24, 2005 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Punter A1 punts the ball and hits his center in the backside. the ball rebounds to A1 who picks it up behind the NZ and advances for a first down. Call?

I think I blew this last night, but BOTH coaches were happy. What is the correct ruling?

First and ten for A, now when do you start the clock? :)

Illini_Ref Sat Sep 24, 2005 03:59pm

Yep, I screwed it up. We looked it up at half time. The punter was under fire all night. My worry was that it would happen again in the second half and then how would we call it since the A coach thought B got the ball where it was touched by A.

I would start the clock on the ready for play.

BulldogMcC Sat Sep 24, 2005 04:11pm

I forgot to specify this is Fed rules.

3-4-3 The clock shall start with the snap...if the clock was stopped because...c)Either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick.

AndrewMcCarthy Sat Sep 24, 2005 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Illini_Ref
I think I blew this last night, but BOTH coaches were happy.
A sure sign something's wrong!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1