The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 21, 2005, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
Good question Kentref, it made me read through the rules again.

Rule 7-5-10...It is forward-pass interference if: (c)An ineligible A player touches a forward pass beyond the neutral zone before a player of B has touched it.

By that, your scenario would result in an OPI, since they make no metion of the expanded neutral zone and says touches as opposed to catch, muff or bat.

I believe it should say expanded neutral zone since an ineligible isn't considered to be "downfield" when he's blocking in the ENZ. Consider this...2nd and 8 at the A35. A7 throws a pass which hits A65 in the back of the head at the (a)A34 (b)A35 (c)A36, and falls incomplete. In (a) and (b) it's no foul, 3rd and 8 at the 35. In (c), it's OPI, and it will be 3rd and 23 for the 20. OUCH!

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1