The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2005, 08:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Last Friday night 8-player varsity game.
QB drops back and attempts a middle screen pass (forward pass) to one of his running backs. The running back collides with a B lineman behind the neutral zone and the pass sails over his head and hits an A lineman in the back. The A lineman is in the neutral zone when contacted by the ball.

7-5-13 indicates, "An ineligible A player has illegally touched a forward pass if he bats, muffs or catches a forward pass while he is in or behind the neutral zone, unless the pass has been touched by B."

Our play was a screen pass in which the ball was not supposed to go beyond the neutral zone. My question: In pass play situations where there is an expanded neutral zone involved, if the A lineman had been say, a yard beyond the neutral zone but still in the expanded neutral zone, would he have been guilty of offensive pass interference if he was making no attempt to catch/muff/bat the ball but the ball hit him in the back?
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1