The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2005, 06:32pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
I've been involved in a long time disagreement over rule 9.2.3d with a WH. This is my 9th year officiating, and last year I called a kid for illegal use of the hands for contacting a wide receiver downfield before the ball was in the air. Here's the situation:

A1 is runs down the sideline on a pass route. B1 charges A1 and hits him full speed knocking A1 out of bounds. After hitting A1, quarterback A2, not seeing that A1 was hit, throws a pass downfield where A1 would have been had he not been hit (i.e. a streak route).

I flagged B1 because it was obvious that A1 was no longer a potential blocker. My white hat waved off the flag saying that it was legal contact since the ball was not in the air and the contact occurred in front and above the waist. When I mentioned 9.2.3d he said that was for illegal contact such as a hit in the back, hands to the face, etc.

Since then, I've called it with other WH's, and they are fine with it. I've just learned not to call it with this one WH. He's very experienced (over 30 years), but he just fundamentally disagrees with me on this one. Perhaps I'm being stubborn, but that kind of contact on a receiver seems unfair and that is the reason for the rule.

What would you guys do?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1