The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Post Scrimmage Kick Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22199-post-scrimmage-kick-play.html)

gtwbam Sun Sep 18, 2005 08:00am

K's ball, fourth and 10 from its own 20 yard line. K1's punt goes out of bounds at the 50 yard line. Before the ball is kicked but after the snap, R2 grabs but does not twist K3's face mask at K's 24 yard line. What's the call?

ljudge Sun Sep 18, 2005 08:09am

PSK applies. R's ball at his own 45.

grantsrc Sun Sep 18, 2005 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ljudge
PSK applies. R's ball at his own 45.
ditto.

gtwbam Sun Sep 18, 2005 08:13pm

I agree as well. However a few officials I work with believe if a foul by R occurs after the snap but prior to the kick, PSK does not apply. They emphasize the word "Post" when talking of a Post Scrimmage Kick Play. Arguing that for PSK to apply, it can only apply after the Punt or kick, not before; assuming all the other requirements of a Post Scrimmage Foul are met, I concurr it should not matter if the foul happened prior to the kick.

Theisey Sun Sep 18, 2005 08:50pm

When NF first published the rule, they had this open/close window concept so at that time your co-officials were correct.

NF finally busted the window and rewrote the rule to match the NCAA rule that PSK fouls are fouls during a scimmage kick play. That means if a kick is made, the scrimmage kick play started at the SNAP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1