The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Need NFHS Ruling guys please help (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22172-need-nfhs-ruling-guys-please-help.html)

zebra5150 Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:17pm

ok guys here is the first one thanks.

4th and 10 on K’s 45 yd. line and K1 punts. The kick travels beyond the neutral zone where it is muffed by R8. The ball rebounds back behind the neutral zone where it is recovered by K9 who then throws a forward pass to K2 which is (a) incomplete, (b) complete and K9 is downed at the 50 yd. line, or (c) complete and K9 is downed at the R 40 yd. line. Whose ball is it and where?

BigGref Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:35pm

When R muffed it he effectively ended the series for K. Therefore as I interpret it you would have an illegal forward pass, 5 yards from spot of throw the LOD aspect is ignored because of the change of possesion. since K was the last team in possession it is there's 1st and 10 5yds from spot of foul or if declined result of play. This sounds right but please critique as needed.

l3will Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebra5150
ok guys here is the first one thanks.

4th and 10 on K’s 45 yd. line and K1 punts. The kick travels beyond the neutral zone where it is muffed by R8. The ball rebounds back behind the neutral zone where it is recovered by K9 who then throws a forward pass to K2 which is (a) incomplete, (b) complete and K9 is downed at the 50 yd. line, or (c) complete and K9 is downed at the R 40 yd. line. Whose ball is it and where?

(a) first and 10 for K at K's 45 yard line.
(b) first and 10 for K at the 50 yd. line.
(c) first and 10 for K at the R 40 yd. line.

5.1.3.f

K has maintained team possession in all instances.
The pass is legal since it occurred behind the neutral zone.

The muff by R8 invokes 5.1.3.f

grantsrc Fri Sep 16, 2005 06:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebra5150
ok guys here is the first one thanks.

4th and 10 on K’s 45 yd. line and K1 punts. The kick travels beyond the neutral zone where it is muffed by R8. The ball rebounds back behind the neutral zone where it is recovered by K9 who then throws a forward pass to K2 which is (a) incomplete, (b) complete and K9 is downed at the 50 yd. line, or (c) complete and K9 is downed at the R 40 yd. line. Whose ball is it and where?


See the thread titled "Effect of a touched kick". It is almost identical to your question and has lots of great discussion.

JugglingReferee Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:03am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally posted by zebra5150
ok guys here is the first one thanks.

4th and 10 on K’s 45 yd. line and K1 punts. The kick travels beyond the neutral zone where it is muffed by R8. The ball rebounds back behind the neutral zone where it is recovered by K9 who then throws a forward pass to K2 which is (a) incomplete, (b) complete and K9 is downed at the 50 yd. line, or (c) complete and K9 is downed at the R 40 yd. line. Whose ball is it and where?

After R8's muff, it is fair game. K9's forward pass is illegal - this is an offside pass subject to penalty. In (a), a whistle here would be inadvertant.

Forksref Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by BigGref
When R muffed it he effectively ended the series for K. Therefore as I interpret it you would have an illegal forward pass, 5 yards from spot of throw the LOD aspect is ignored because of the change of possesion. since K was the last team in possession it is there's 1st and 10 5yds from spot of foul or if declined result of play. This sounds right but please critique as needed.
Because it was a muff, team possession did not change, so there is no illegal pass. (7-5-2a)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1