The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Defensive Holding or Not? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22159-defensive-holding-not.html)

mikesears Thu Sep 15, 2005 08:21am

1. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and moves him to the side and tackles ball carrier A2 for a loss.

2. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 stands, reads the play, and sees that ball carrier A1 is moving in his direction. He grabs blocker A1 by the outside of the shoulder pads and pushes him out of the way and tackles A1 for a short loss.

3. A the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and flings him to the ground. B1 thens tackles the ball carrier for a short loss.


Snake~eyes Thu Sep 15, 2005 08:51am

Legal on all three for me.

A defensive player may also:
b.Push, pull or ward off an opponent in an actual attempt to get at the runner

BulldogMcC Thu Sep 15, 2005 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
1. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and moves him to the side and tackles ball carrier A2 for a loss.

2. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 stands, reads the play, and sees that ball carrier A1 is moving in his direction. He grabs blocker A1 by the outside of the shoulder pads and pushes him out of the way and tackles A1 for a short loss.

3. A the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and flings him to the ground. B1 thens tackles the ball carrier for a short loss.


Legal in 1 and 2, also legal in three if the act of 'fling'ing A1 was to make progress towards the ball/ball carrier. The fact he makes the tackle on the runner does not make it legal, the act of doing it to get at the runner does. Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.

Bob M. Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
... Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.
REPLY: BDMcC...what do you mean by this?

Daryl H. Long Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
... Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.
REPLY: BDMcC...what do you mean by this?

Bob,

Seems in Sit.#2 both the blocker and the ball carrier are A1.

JugglingReferee Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
1. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and moves him to the side and tackles ball carrier A2 for a loss.

2. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 stands, reads the play, and sees that ball carrier A1 is moving in his direction. He grabs blocker A1 by the outside of the shoulder pads and pushes him out of the way and tackles A1 for a short loss.

3. A the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and flings him to the ground. B1 thens tackles the ball carrier for a short loss.


1. Probably not
2. No
3. Probably

mikesears Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Quote:

Originally posted by Bob M.
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
... Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.
REPLY: BDMcC...what do you mean by this?

Bob,

Seems in Sit.#2 both the blocker and the ball carrier are A1.

In my best coach's voice:

But one was "1" and one was "01". :D How can that be a foul.

irefky Thu Sep 15, 2005 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
1. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and moves him to the side and tackles ball carrier A2 for a loss.

2. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 stands, reads the play, and sees that ball carrier A1 is moving in his direction. He grabs blocker A1 by the outside of the shoulder pads and pushes him out of the way and tackles A1 for a short loss.

3. A the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and flings him to the ground. B1 thens tackles the ball carrier for a short loss.


Legal in 1 and 2, also legal in three if the act of 'fling'ing A1 was to make progress towards the ball/ball carrier. The fact he makes the tackle on the runner does not make it legal, the act of doing it to get at the runner does. Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.

I am pretty sure Mike was not issuing #'s to these players. I also have legal in all 3.

mikesears Thu Sep 15, 2005 01:03pm

What do we do with Casebook play 9.2.3B(a) then?



Theisey Thu Sep 15, 2005 01:28pm

NF Case book play to me is not the same as your case play(s).

In the 9.2.3 sit B: the B player is controlling the A player with his hold. Might evenbe preventing A from blocking another player.
In each of your case plays the B player basically just grabs,pulls,holds to get the A player out of his way.
I see a difference here.

BulldogMcC Thu Sep 15, 2005 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by irefky
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
1. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and moves him to the side and tackles ball carrier A2 for a loss.

2. At the snap, defensive lineman B1 stands, reads the play, and sees that ball carrier A1 is moving in his direction. He grabs blocker A1 by the outside of the shoulder pads and pushes him out of the way and tackles A1 for a short loss.

3. A the snap, defensive lineman B1 grabs offensive lineman A1 by the jersey and flings him to the ground. B1 thens tackles the ball carrier for a short loss.


Legal in 1 and 2, also legal in three if the act of 'fling'ing A1 was to make progress towards the ball/ball carrier. The fact he makes the tackle on the runner does not make it legal, the act of doing it to get at the runner does. Also in 2 I have illegal number on A.

I am pretty sure Mike was not issuing #'s to these players. I also have legal in all 3.

I figured that but thought I would have a little fun with it. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1