The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Player Going OOB ? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22051-player-going-oob.html)

kd0254 Wed Sep 07, 2005 08:10am

I am not sure if this pertains to illegal participation, something else, or nothing at all in NFHS.

My question is if a player from A (or B) goes OOB because he is blocked out, and returns at the next available oppurtunity (i.e. there is not illegal participation for "intentionally" going OOB) is there a problem with him catching a forward pass after he returns inbounds from OOB?

I am not sure if this is a pro thing, college thing, or high school thing. I have been trying to reference this is the NFHS rulebook without luck? Anyone have input as to if this is a penalty or something perfectly legal? Is there something in the rule book about him being the "first" person to touch the ball after returning inbounds? Thanks.
Any input is appreciated.


Dale

AndrewMcCarthy Wed Sep 07, 2005 08:37am

No such rule in NFHS.

mikesears Wed Sep 07, 2005 09:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by kd0254
I am not sure if this pertains to illegal participation, something else, or nothing at all in NFHS.

My question is if a player from A (or B) goes OOB because he is blocked out, and returns at the next available oppurtunity (i.e. there is not illegal participation for "intentionally" going OOB) is there a problem with him catching a forward pass after he returns inbounds from OOB?

I am not sure if this is a pro thing, college thing, or high school thing. I have been trying to reference this is the NFHS rulebook without luck? Anyone have input as to if this is a penalty or something perfectly legal? Is there something in the rule book about him being the "first" person to touch the ball after returning inbounds? Thanks.
Any input is appreciated.


Dale

There is a fundamental that says something like, "A player who starts the down as eligible remains eligible throughout the down". In other words, nothing an eligible receiver does during a down makes him ineligible to touch, bat, or catch a pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1