The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Penalty enforcement. (https://forum.officiating.com/football/22023-penalty-enforcement.html)

Buckeyes Sun Sep 04, 2005 02:11pm

Team A has the ball 2nd 7 from the 50, they throw an interception. After the interception, there is holding on B then a block in the back on A. Then after the tackle A has a late hit. The hold was on B's 25 & the block in the back at the 35. B return the ball to A's 20. Where is it B's ball at??? We took it to B's 25 & wlked off the dead ball foul. Correct??


MJT Sun Sep 04, 2005 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Buckeyes
Team A has the ball 2nd 7 from the 50, they throw an interception. After the interception, there is holding on B then a block in the back on A. Then after the tackle A has a late hit. The hold was on B's 25 & the block in the back at the 35. B return the ball to A's 20. Where is it B's ball at??? We took it to B's 25 & wlked off the dead ball foul. Correct??


I edited this, as I went the wrong way the 1st time. If you are saying you enforced the hold by B back to B's 15, and then walked off 15 yards for A's late hit to the B-30, giving the intercepting team 1-10 from their own 30, you did it right. Read rule 10-2-2 as it is was pertains to your play.

[Edited by MJT on Sep 4th, 2005 at 04:59 PM]

andy1033 Sun Sep 04, 2005 03:35pm

B must decline the block in the back by a to keep the ball

Then mark off 10 from 25 and then 15 for b

ball is on 30 yard line

[Edited by andy1033 on Sep 4th, 2005 at 04:55 PM]

MJT Sun Sep 04, 2005 04:01pm

andy, we were both confused by the #s the first time, but now agree. I think we were editing at the same time.

INDYREF Thu Sep 08, 2005 02:56pm

Since both penalties for holding and the block in the back were after the change in possession, they are a double foul and are off setting. The late hit should be penalized from the end of the play.

BulldogMcC Thu Sep 08, 2005 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by INDYREF
Since both penalties for holding and the block in the back were after the change in possession, they are a double foul and are off setting. The late hit should be penalized from the end of the play.

NFHS Rules

Yes and No, since B obtained possession of the ball with clean hands, they may elect to decline A's foul and keep possession of the ball but by rule, the foul against B must be enforced. B's foul was behind the end of the run, at B's 25, so you go back ten from there to the 15, then march off 15 for the dead ball and it is B's ball 1st and 10 from B's 30. If B does not decline A's penalty, the two offset and A repeats 2nd down from their 35 after the 15 yard dead foul walk off.

[Edited by BulldogMcC on Sep 8th, 2005 at 04:09 PM]

andy1033 Thu Sep 08, 2005 03:08pm

They could be offsetting if b accepts a's live ball foul. If b declines a's live foul then they can keep the ball. Enforce the other fouls.

Bob M. Thu Sep 08, 2005 03:55pm

REPLY: IndyRef...In those situtations where there is a change of possession and live ball fouls by each team, as long as B got the ball with 'clean hands' it doesn't matter when Team A fouled. B's option to decline A's foul(s) and keep the ball is the same. Some people get confused into considering whether A's foul occurred <u>before</u> or <u>after</u> the change of possession. It doesn't matter.

waltjp Fri Sep 09, 2005 06:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
the foul against B must be enforced.

Not necessarily. In reality, A will accept the penalty and that's how you'd probably present it to their captain, but they do have the option to decline. To understand why they'd decline the penalty would require you to get into the mind of a coach. Oooohhh, scary place.

mikesears Fri Sep 09, 2005 08:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by waltjp
Quote:

Originally posted by BulldogMcC
the foul against B must be enforced.

Not necessarily. In reality, A will accept the penalty and that's how you'd probably present it to their captain, but they do have the option to decline. To understand why they'd decline the penalty would require you to get into the mind of a coach. Oooohhh, scary place.

Actually BulldogMcC is right. B's fouls will be enforced. Here is one where A would WANT to decline, but they MUST accept the penalty by rule.

Two seconds in 2Q, with 3/5 @ A-20. Team A is flagged for having only 6 men on the line of scrimmage. A1 fumbles the ball at the A-15 and B1 recovers and advances to the A-5. During B1's run, B2 blocks A3 in the back at the A-10. Time for the half expires during the down.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1