|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			On fourth down in apparent punt formation, team A lines up with tackle A88 in a three point stance.  End A89 is adjacent.  Team A has 5 players numbered 50-79 on the line.  Shortly prior to the snap A89 shifts making A88 an end.  Team  A completes an untouched pass to A88 beyond the neutral zone for a first down.   Legal play and first down for A? Is this a casebook example of 7-2-5-b exception, or since A already had 5 players numbered 50-79 on the line, was 88 not part of this exception? Thx 
				__________________ Bayou Ump | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Casebook 7-5-2 B  deals with this play and rules that the pass to A88 is complete saying that the fact that A lined up with a player wearing an eligible receivers number in the interior line does not eliminate the possibility of this player being eligible to receive a pass following a shift.
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			The situation that you have described is not dealing with the numbering exception.  A is just in scrimmage kick formation, because A has 5 players numbered 50-79 on the los. So the fact that A then shifts and uncovers the tackle who has an eligible number is fine.  However if A is in scrimmage kick formation and IS using the numbering exception (LESS than 5 players 50-79 on the los, a member of team A 7 or more yards behind the los and in position to receive a snap and no member of team A in position to receive a hand to hand snap) then this play would be a problem. Once a member of team A who is in the game using the numbering exception and is in an ineligible position, even if A shifts, that player remains ineligible. The only situation that I know of that this particular player would become eligible is if B touches a forward pass and all A players were then eligible.  
		 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |