The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Blocking on a kick... (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21878-blocking-kick.html)

w_sohl Thu Aug 25, 2005 08:56am

K1 blocks R1, who is approximately seven yards from R2, into R2 who is signaling a fair catch. K1 did not drive R1 into R2, R1 simply lost his balance and rolled into R2 who muffs the kick due to the contact from R1 and K recovers.

Do we have KCI on K1, do we ignore the touching by R or do we have nothing?

[Edited by w_sohl on Aug 25th, 2005 at 11:12 AM]

ljudge Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:07am

K's ball and it's dead at that spot. You do not have KCI and you don't ignore the touching by R. This is not in violation of anything under 6-2-4 or 6-5-6.

w_sohl Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:13am

What if it is a continious block that carries R1 into R2 while K1 and R1 are locked?

The Roamin' Umpire Thu Aug 25, 2005 10:32am

If the K player shoves the R blocker so that he stumbles 5-7 yards into the returner, I've got nothing.

If the K player drives the R blocker through continuous contact 5-7 yards into the returner, I've got KCI.

If the R blockers is within a yard or two... I think I'd want to see it. NF 6-5-6 will support a KCI call - "While ... any scrimmage kick is in flight, K shall not touch the ball <i>or R</i> unless blocked into the ball or R or to ward off a blocker ..." (emphasis mine) If K initiates contact with an R blocker who's standing very near the returner, causing a collision with the returner, I think I've got a flag. But I definitely want to see the play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1