The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   K recovers free kick? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21856-k-recovers-free-kick.html)

FredFan7 Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:33am

NFHS

K kicks off to R. R33 signals for a fair catch at his 35 yard line. The kick bounces off R's shoulder pads and before it touches the ground K44 contacts R33 and the kick is recovered by K44. The kick never touched the ground before K44 recovered. Does the K recovery stand?

NFHS

mikesears Wed Aug 24, 2005 10:53am

Yes, K keeps the ball. It touched an R player, thus making K legally able to possess the ball. R had his chance to catch the ball so any contact after the muff is legal as long as the contact isn't a personal foul or an illegal block.


FredFan7 Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:00am

Even if the kick never touched the ground? For K to recover a free kick beyond the neutral zone, it has to touch the ground, correct? Not arguing, just asking.....

[Edited by FredFan7 on Aug 24th, 2005 at 12:05 PM]

w_sohl Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:07am

Once it touches R it is anyones ball

kdf5 Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:09am

You say he recovered it but also that the ball never hit the ground. This would be a catch not a recovery. It would be K's ball where it was caught.

Any K can catch or recover unless it's kick catch interference or first touching.

mikesears Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by FredFan7
Even if the kick never touched the ground? For K to recover a free kick beyond the neutral zone, it has to touch the ground, correct? Not arguing, just asking.....

[Edited by FredFan7 on Aug 24th, 2005 at 12:05 PM]

Th requirements for K to be given the ball when they possess a free kick.

1. The ball must touch the ground AND it must travel 10 yards (either order)


OR

2. Regardless of how far it travels and if it is grounded, an R player must have touched the ball. (If K muffs the ball into R, the touching by R is ignored).


FredFan7 Wed Aug 24, 2005 11:25am

Ok, thanks.

cougar729 Thu Aug 25, 2005 03:37am

The illustrated book gives a brief explaination on 6-5-6

ScottV Thu Aug 25, 2005 04:14pm

I think the NCAA rule is confusing Fred


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1