The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Swatting the Snap? (NFHS) (https://forum.officiating.com/football/21794-swatting-snap-nfhs.html)

Theisey Thu Aug 18, 2005 02:29pm

This play is covered in the FRD manual (should you be working both NCAA and NF games).

NF: legal once the snapper starts moving the ball.
NCAA: foul on team-B, play killed.

How in the world an NF player can do this is hard to imagine unless the snapper is moving the ball at a snails pace.

waltjp Thu Aug 18, 2005 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by kdf5
Quote:

Originally posted by waltjp
This is covered in the latest issue of Referee.
Can you give us some highlights from the article (other than it's legal) such as rule numbers or part of their theory why it's legal? Also, 9-9-1 says no player...shall hinder play by an unfair act which has no specific rule coverage. If you believe this shouldn't be allowed then this might be your catch all.

[Edited by kdf5 on Aug 18th, 2005 at 03:23 PM]

Wasn't much of an article, as I remember - more of a sidebar. I do remember reading that it was legal in HS. I'd have to check to see what references it cited.

Snake~eyes Thu Aug 18, 2005 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by waltjp
Quote:

Originally posted by kdf5
Quote:

Originally posted by waltjp
This is covered in the latest issue of Referee.
Can you give us some highlights from the article (other than it's legal) such as rule numbers or part of their theory why it's legal? Also, 9-9-1 says no player...shall hinder play by an unfair act which has no specific rule coverage. If you believe this shouldn't be allowed then this might be your catch all.

[Edited by kdf5 on Aug 18th, 2005 at 03:23 PM]

Wasn't much of an article, as I remember - more of a sidebar. I do remember reading that it was legal in HS. I'd have to check to see what references it cited.

I just looked at it and you are correct, it is a sidebar. It does not state much other than in NFHS the noseguard may touch the ball once the ball moves. In NCAA it is a dead ball offsides. In NCAA B cannot touch the ball until it leaves the snappers hands.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1